Christmas musings

When I was a kid, I used to get really bummed out on Christmas. It was such a let down to me. I would get into the spirit like everyone else. How could you not? Mall santas, circulars advertising toys, candy canes, cookies, all that stuff is still appealing to a Jewish kid. But then the actual day would arrive and while all of my friends woke up early to open their gifts, I woke up to nothing. My Hanukkah gifts would be a faded memory by now, especially if Hanukkah was toward the beginning on the month. I actually grew up in a pretty heavily populated Jewish area but for whatever reason, none of my friends were Jewish.

There’s just this feeling of not belonging on Christmas Day. Although on a typical day, I might never feel the need to go to to a certain store, on Christmas Day, I do simply because I can’t. It’s like the country is having a party and I’m not invited. Most of my friends are pretty low-key in their religious beliefs and don’t associate Christmas with Christ, but nonetheless were raised in a family that have a celebration.

Still, there are other things to rejoice in celebration about. I mean, I guess I am rejoicing in the fact that I have the day off and I can laze around the house and eat Chinese food and see a movie with one of my few Jewish friends. For me, Christmas is a quiet and still day. It’s taken a long time, but I’ve learned to enjoy the solitude and embrace it instead of resenting it.

Murphy and I went on a long walk this morning. We went about 4.5 miles into the Highlands. It’s one of my favorite areas; there are tons of shops and bars and restaurants and just good people watching. However, I’m not sure that my rather excitable dog would be able to do it on a regular day. Too much stimulation. Having a dog is proving to be pretty good exercise. And I can use the excuse that nothing is open to have that walk be my only exercise of the day.

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate and to all that don’t, I hope you are having a wonderfully peaceful day as well.

Comments are closed.