Back in da ATL

It’s Sunday night and I’m back in Atlanta after a whirlwind weekend of dress shopping, regular shopping, crab eating and seeing family.

My flight was supposed to leave Atlanta at 7:20 on Friday evening. Due to weather conditions in DC, it was about two hours late. We sat on the tarmac for an hour and a half waiting for them to clear us to take off. All I can say is Thank God for my iphone. I would have been bored out of my mind as I only brought a magazine.

The next morning, we had an appointment at a bridal salon at 10 am. I had a certain style of dress in mind and fortunately, it was the style that looked the best on me. I went in there telling myself to ignore the size; wedding gowns run small and don’t let it get to me. I tried on about 10 dresses and really liked one of them a lot. We were there for about an hour and a half and decided to talk about it over lunch. There was a Whole Foods right around the corner, so we decided to make that our lunch destination. And guess what I found?

IMG_1709

All I have to say is PB&J larabar, get your ass to Atlanta stat! Tropical Fruit larabar, well, no offense, but you can take your sweet time.

After lunch, we went to another bridal shop. This one was closing and had all the samples for sale. We went there and I hated it. It was in a snotty area and the sales people were not friendly in the slightest. Plus, none of the dresses looked good on me. So, we decided to call back the first place and order the dress that I liked! I actually have a million pictures of me in it, if anyone would like to see.

Dress shopping wore me out! Those dresses are heavy and not easy to get in and out of! A nap was in order. After the nap, we had the quintessential Maryland dinner – crabs and beer.

IMG_1712

I had 4 crabs and 2 beers. Perfect amount!

This morning, I was going to go running, but..uhh..it just didn’t happen. No exercise at all happened this weekend unless you count trying on the dresses. I feel sort of guilty for that, but know that it will be fine and I will just resume my training plan tomorrow. I met up with my dad, stepmother, brother and his gf, cousin and his gf, cousin and her husband and their baby (whew, that was a lot to type) for lunch. We went to a country club and frankly, I thought the food was pretty bad. I didn’t see a lot of healthy options so decided to go with the ahi tuna sliders without mayo. They were okay. It came with fries. I ate about half of them.

After lunch, my dad dropped me back at my mom’s house and we went to see the venue where we’re getting married. I hadn’t seen it before so I was eager to actually have an image that I can picture in my mind when I think about our wedding.

This is the courtyard where we’re having the ceremony, weather permitting.

IMG_1716

This is where the reception will be. Sorry for the dark picture; they didn’t have the lights on.

IMG_1714

Looks what’s down the street. Hi Barack and Michelle! Do you think they’ll make an appearance?

IMG_1728

Bye-bye DC. See you soon!

IMG_1732

8 responses to “Back in da ATL

  1. that last photo is excellent! and i love crab. mmm.

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I’ve GOT to try that PB&J one!!!

  3. I WANT TO SEE!!!! also, the courtyard area is gorgeous. i’m so excited for you!!

    love crab but get frustrated trying to crack it open!

  4. What a gorgeous venue!! Wow, that is going to be absolutely beautiful in the spring.

    Lara PB&J needs to haul a$$ to Indy, too. I KNOW I would love that flavor!!

  5. Um YES I want to see a picture :)

  6. homecookedem

    Gorgeous setting for a wedding!!!!

    I second that, PB&J Larabar!!!!!!!!!! Atlantans love PB&J toooooo!

    So glad to hear you found your dress!! Isn’t it fun?! :)

  7. angieinatlanta

    Beautiful locations! It’s going to be so lovely!

    And seriously, if I don’t get my PB&J sample soon, I’m going to lose it!