Food

Since I’d been away for the weekend, I had no food in the house yesterday morning. I decided to make something I’d seen on other blogs for breakfast.

IMG_1733

Oatmeal in an almond butter jar. I just so happened to have a jar of almond butter that was pretty much empty. I made oats using 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1 scoop chia seeds and a squirt of agave nectar. I poured it into the jar and was surprised at how good it was. I’m not a big oatmeal person. I have it every now and again, but not on a daily, or even weekly basis. If I had another almost empty nut butter jar, I’d definitely make this again. The taste of the almond butter was present throughout the whole jar, instead of getting lost, like I feel it does when I put a spoonful on my oatmeal.

For dinner, I was feeling fish. I abandoned my cookbook of the month and decided to go with a recipe from Eating Well magazine that I’d saved on my computer – Catfish with Tomatillo Salsa.

I’d never bought a tomatillo before and was surprised that once I peeled off the papery skin, the fruit was somewhat sticky. I have no idea if that’s normal or not! Anyway, this meal was pretty good. A tiny bit on the bland side, but nothing that a little Frank’s can’t fix.

IMG_1735

Catfish with Tomatillo Salsa in Packets
Serves 4

1-1 1/4 pounds catfish, cut into 4 portions, or 4 tilapia fillets (4-5 ounces each)
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1 pound tomatillos (see Tip), husks removed, coarsely chopped
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 jalapeño or serrano pepper, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Juice of 1 lime
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400°F (or see Grill Variation, below).
2. To prepare packets, start with four 20- to 24-inch-long pieces of parchment paper or foil. Fold in half crosswise. With the parchment or foil folded, draw half a heart shape on one side as you would if you were making a Valentine. Use scissors to cut out the heart shape. Open up the heart.
3. Season fish with cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper. Combine tomatillos, onion, chile pepper, garlic and cilantro in a large bowl; stir in lime juice, oil, the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and cayenne to taste (if using).
4. Place one portion of fish on one side of each open heart fairly close to the crease and leaving at least a 1-inch boarder around the edges for folding. Place one-fourth of the salsa (about 1 cup) on top of each fish portion.
5. Close the packet to cover the ingredients. Starting at the top, seal the packet by folding the edges together in a series of small, tight folds. Twist the tip of the packet and tuck it underneath to help keep the packet closed. Place the packets on a large rimmed baking sheet (packets may overlap slightly). Bake until the fish is opaque in the center, about 20 minutes. (Carefully open one package to check for doneness—be cautious of the steam.) Let packets rest unopened for 5 minutes before serving.

NUTRITION INFORMATION: Per serving: 241 calories; 13 g fat (3 g sat, 7 g mono); 53 mg cholesterol; 12 g carbohydrate; 19 g protein; 3 g fiber; 500 mg sodium; 725 mg potassium.
Nutrition bonus: Vitamin C (40% daily value), Potassium (21% dv).
1 Carbohydrate Serving
Exchanges: 1 1/2 vegetable, 2 1/2 lean meat, 1 fat

For some reason, the recipe online says this takes an hour and five minutes which is most certainly did not. It took about 5 minutes to prepare the veggies and then 20 minutes to cook.

I have more to say about boot camp, training and wedding planning but I’m late to work so I’ll have to post again later tonight.

5 responses to “Food

  1. homecookedem

    Oats in a jar!!!! Was HEAB the original?? Whoever it was is GENIOUS!!!!!!!!

    hehe, Frank’s can fix anything!! ;)

  2. angieinatlanta

    I love Frank’s! It’s the best!

    Ecto seems pretty user friendly so far – I like being able to click and drag from iPhoto and that cuts down on my blogging time a lot. But there seem to be a few glitches I don’t have figured out yet, like saving a post with all the pics in tact.

    I’m giving it at least a week so I’ll let you know how I feel after 7 days with this bad boy.

  3. Oatmeal in the PB (or AB in this case!) is definitely the way to go! :)

  4. haha, franks makes everything better!

  5. I keep meaning to try the oatmeal in a jar thing, but I always forget and let my dog lick the peanut butter jar clean lol!