Rebel, Rebel

Guess what I got? Hanukkah Claus was good to me and there was a Canon Rebel XSi sitting under the tree! (Yes, a real tree. My father’s side of the family celebrates Christmas since my stepmother is Christian.) I kind of feel like I’m jumping on some blogging bandwagon here, but I definitely have plans to use the camera for more than just food pictures. I actually took Photography, Photojournalism and Advanced Photography in college. Now I need to remember everything. I went to Barnes & Noble today and bought myself a Canon Rebel XSi for Dummies book! That should do the trick. I definitely want to discover the features of the camera and not just use it on automatic!

I can’t believe my vacation is almost over. I have a flight back to Atlanta tomorrow at noon. I normally leave a bit later, but I didn’t want to deal with the possibility of being delayed and getting home close to midnight which has happened many a time. I’ve had a fun trip although I really wish Jason could have come with me. He had to work.

My Aunt, Uncle, cousin and his girlfriend came over on Thursday night. My mom made chicken, green beans and potato latkes. I made matzoh ball soup from a mix. The kind from the mix is actually really good and the broth is even vegetarian. After, dinner, we played a game of Outburst. The Hanukkah tradition always includes a board game. It was my mother, aunt and cousin against me, my uncle and cousin’s gf. The other team won. Boo. My cousin invited me to a party after, but it was in Germantown, about a 20-25 minute drive and I just didn’t feel like going. Old lady here.

On Friday, I went to my dad’s house and we did presents. Then my dad, brother and I went to see Avatar. I’m normally not into Sci-Fi type movies at all, but I really liked it. We went to the Uptown theater which has a HUGE screen and it was really neat to see it there.

Today started early. My mom had a guest pass to her gym and let me go there while she got her hair cut. Her gym is so much nicer than mine. All of the cardio machines are state of the art and they all have personal tvs on them. But, she also pays double what I pay at LAAAA Fitness. 6 miles was on my training plan. I did it slowly, at 5.5 miles per hour. For some reason, the tv on the treadmill kept turning off and I couldn’t figure it out. I hopped around on some different treadmills and it kept happening. I’ll have to ask my mom what I was doing wrong because other people were watching tv just fine. So, I listened to music instead. The run was fairly uneventful. I had to play some mind games with myself. Just run 3 miles, I’d say. Then after that, I’d tell myself to run 1 more and I could quit etc. This actually worked and I did the entire 6 miles.

I’m going to do some shopping with mi madre and then five of my friends from high school (and their signficant others and in some cases, children) and I are all going to Lebanese Taverna, my favorite restaurant for dinner.

I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend.

10 responses to “Rebel, Rebel

  1. How cool is that, can’t wait to see what pics you take!

  2. AHHH awesome about the camera! no exciting xmas cameras for me but i’m planning buying one after my moonlighting shift in february (i’ll even have some left over — anthro dress, perhaps?).

    LOOOOOOOOVE lebanese taverna. oh yum.

  3. Looking forward to seeing pictures with your new toy!! :)

  4. Can’t wait to see all of your fantastic photos! Enjoy the rest of your trip. :)

  5. angieinatlanta

    Ah! So jealous of your new camera! Can’t wait to see your pictures!

  6. So many bloggy friends have been getting Rebels this Christmas! I’m so jealous! Can’t wait to see some pics with it:)

  7. Yay for your new camera! I can’t wait to see it in action!

  8. yay im so incredibly jealous! i’ve wanted a slr camera for so long! thats amazing :)

  9. Oh my gosh…that is so exciting! I have MAJOR camera envy from all of the pretty blog pics I’ve been seeing. It just makes a huge different. Shoot, I can’t even learn to use my point and shoot. :-)