Resting

I’m still not feeling 100%. I’m not even sure that I’m feeling 75% although I feel a hell of a lot better than I did yesterday. With me, there is one easy way to tell how sick I actually feel and that’s if I am taking medicine. I am not a big medicine taker, so considering the fact that I took Dayquil every 4 hours yesterday tells you that I really wasn’t feeling well. I do feel a lot better this morning, however. I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to go out to New Years Eve dinner. Okay, I’ll stop droning on about my cold now; I told you that I was a baby when I am sick!

Last night, I wanted comfort food for dinner. Whenever I’m craving comfort food, my go-to is refried beans. I don’t know why; I just really like them! Weird, right? I paired them with some sauteed peppers and a low-carb tortilla that I toasted and made into chips. Oh, and a heaping pile of salsa.

IMG_0154.JPG

That looks like much more food than it actually was because of the mound of salsa. Jason went the more traditional route and made his into chicken fajitas.

IMG_0157.JPG

This was his pre-fajita. You get the idea. After dinner, we watched Julie & Julia. I’m going to just say it, I didn’t love this movie. I kind of thought it was boring and Meryl Streep’s voice as Julia annoyed the hell out of me. (I know that Julia Child talked like that, but still.) The book sort of bored me too, to tell the truth. Although I did understand when Julie got excited about getting comments. Comments always excite me too!

I haven’t been to the gym since Monday. Ugh. I think it’s probably for the best though. I just get a little panicky when I miss more than two days in a row. I’m also a little panicky about the holiday goodies that I’ve been consuming for the past couple of weeks. Our scale has a dead battery so I have no idea how much damage my overindulging has done. I can’t go by the way my clothes fit. I always think my clothes are too tight unless they are completely falling off me. Hence the reason most of my stuff is too baggy. As much as a like these short weeks and seeing my family, I’ll definitely be happy this weekend when the holidays are finally over.

9 responses to “Resting

  1. Can I just say that meal looks AMAZING!? HOLY YUM!!

    Also – my guess for who the killer is, is Renee! Hopefully I’m not ruining it for anyone one your blog! Haha.

    I can’t wait to see if I’m right!

  2. That meal looks so good!! Are those la tortilla factory tortillas I spy?? :) I love those!!

    I hope you feel better soon!! It’s no fun to be feeling miserable. Hopefully you can go out tonight.

    I agree… the ONLY reason I’ll be ok with my break from school ending is so that I can recommit to my weight loss goals and get back on track.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!! :)

  3. Hope you feel better!
    Happy New Year!

  4. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I hope you feel better SOON! Happy New Year!!

  5. Just dropping by to say hi – I found your blog through HomecookedEms! It’s great, looking forward to reading more! Anyway, I hope you feel better, I HATE being sick, more than anything. It throws off my routine, I’m so type A that this drives me bonkers!! Hang in there!

  6. Hope you are feeling better! I had some refried beans a few days ago and I forgot how good they taste! Mmm, I’ll have to cook some up soon.
    Happy New Year!

    • Trader Joe’s refried beans (I think they’re called salsa flavored) are my favorite. I also like Old El Paso. I know way too much about refried beans!

  7. I hope you feel better soon! I’m fighting an annoying as can be cold…nothing horrible, just have that feeling that I have to sneeze all.day.long. Apparently, I’m a baby, too! :-)