abz

As much as I am not looking forward to my father having surgery, I am kind of excited to get out of Atlanta for the weekend. I don’t know if it’s the cold weather we’ve been having this winter or just winter itself, but I feel like the weeks have just been dragging on. I think I always feel this way in February though. I think it’s the worst month. I mean, there’s Valentine’s Day, if you’re into that, but other than that, what else is it good for? Not that DC is going to be warmer, but at least it’ll be a change.

I’ve been feeling better these past couple days. I’ve been putting a lot of energy into working out and I think that’s helped. Now, I’m not going crazy or anything like that, but I’ve been trying to get all my mileage in and lift weights in addition. I decided to split up tomorrow’s 5-miler into a 2 and 3. I don’t know if splitting up my training plan like this is as effective, but I feel like I’m getting the miles in, so I shouldn’t worry. Besides, I have run five half-marathons before; I can do the distance.

Went down to the office gym at lunch and did 2 miles on the treadmill. I haven’t lost any weight (according to my scale) but I ran in these old mesh UVM shorts and they were literally falling off me. Weird. Not that I’m complaining about that. In addition to the run, I also did a few ab moves. I never know what half these things are called!

full sit-ups, 3 sets of 12
where you lie on your back with your legs in the air and lower them practically to the floor, 3 sets of 8
sitting on my butt with my legs not touching the floor, going side to side with a 7.5 pound weight for obliques, 3 sets of 20
side plank – 2 sets of 15 seconds each, each side
V-ups – 1 set of 12 (so hard!)

I tend to neglect my abs. I guess it’s because I’ve always heard that you can’t spot train. Is that true? Will doing a bunch of ab-work give me a flatter core? I mean, I know it’s good for running and posture and everything, but from a purely superficial standpoint, will it help my honeymoon bikini cause?

13 responses to “abz

  1. I NEVER do ab work! i’ve heard that its all about your diet. i should prob still do some sit ups or crunches sometimes though :) i feel like plank in yoga kills my abs! we should just do those all the time!

  2. I can’t help but think that abs are like 50% diet, 30% exercise, and 20% genetics. I made those percentages up, but you know what I mean. :) I would try pilates since it uses your entire core… oh, it’s awful but so good at the same time.

    I’ll be thinking of you this weekend!

  3. Which half-marathon are you doing?? The GA ING?

    Have a safe trip up to DC, and I’ll be thinking of you and your fam this weekend!

  4. Oh man…I totally neglect my abs…just out of pure laziness, really :-)

  5. Awesome workout Lee! Goodluck this weekend too…I am totally thinking about you. Keep us posted okay?!

  6. Hi Lee! I’m glad that you are feeling better. I think if you couple running with core work you will definitely see results in your ab area! I get a lot of core work in with yoga and my body sculpt class. My fave is the boat pose, which is essentially a v-sit. Have a great weekend!

  7. you can tone up your abdomen muscles doing ab work, but as far as losing fat and getting a flatter core, that is all with diet!

  8. Good Luck this weekend! I hope all goes well (which I know it will).

    Ab work is the worst for me. I have been going to a class at they Gym called Body Works plus abs. It is a great work out. You are doing so well with yours.

  9. It may help a little…but I think cardio will be most beneficial in helping them look their best. I don’t really like doing ab work because it takes so long before my abs get fatigued. The only think that quickly works are front and side planks. I do one front plank for as long as possible, and then side planks for as long as possible. It never takes more than 5 minutes!

  10. I haaaate ab work. Hate, hate, hate! But in the past year, I’ve made myself do them 3 times a week. I think it’s made a difference (or maybe it’s in my head?). I do most of the exercises from this blog post:

    http://iamthebeholder.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/ab-solutely/

    But then I hear things like “abs come from what you eat” (or something like that). I figure, it can’t hurt, right??

  11. angieinatlanta

    I hope all goes well with your father’s surgery!

  12. Pilates has been the most beneficial exercise for me, in regards to the old abs. I also really like pilates for a whole other slew of reasons.