Cleaning out the kitchen

My desire for ice cream got me to the gym last night. I did three miles on the treadmill. The first at 6.3 mph, the second at 6.0 and the last at 5.8. And then I got my ice cream. Hey, whatever gets me off my ass, right? While I was at the grocery store, I bought the ingredients for tonight’s dinner.

Bulgur Salad with Lightly Roasted Vegetables

IMG_2182.JPG

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS
2 cups coarse bulgur, rinsed
2 cups hot water
1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1 medium carrot, cut into 1/4-inch dice (I did not use)
1 small red onion, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/2 red bell pepper, cut into 1/4-inch dice (I used 1 yellow red pepper)
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon tomato paste (I used tomato sauce)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 medium cucumber—peeled, seeded and cut into 1/4-inch dice (I did not peel)
Crushed red pepper
DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 400°. In a large bowl, cover the bulgur with the hot water. Cover the bowl with a plate and let stand until the water has been absorbed and the bulgur is tender, about 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, on a large rimmed baking sheet, drizzle the zucchini, carrot, onion and bell pepper with 2 tablespoons of the olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and toss well. Roast for about 15 minutes, until the vegetables are slightly softened; let cool.

Fluff the bulgur with a fork. Stir in the tomato paste. Fold in the roasted vegetables, lemon juice, cucumber and the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Season with salt, black pepper and crushed red pepper. Serve at room temperature or slightly chilled.

IMG_2184.JPG

I really enjoyed this. Since we are moving in a week and a half, I’ve been trying to use up some of the food in the cabinets. I had a bag of bulgur so this recipe worked out well. I didn’t even know I liked bulgur wheat until recently. Growing up, my mom used to make a huge bowl of tabbouleh for herself almost every night. She didn’t use oil in it and it always tasted like sand to me. I only recently realized that it was my mom’s method of cooking the bulgur that I didn’t like and that I actually like tabbouleh and bulgur wheat. Even though this didn’t have any parseley, it was still very similar to tabbouleh.

How is it gym time again? I swear I was just there.

13 responses to “Cleaning out the kitchen

  1. Yumm that bulgar with veggies looks delicious. Probably not as delicious as the ice cream was, haha

  2. Haha. You should get a tshirt that says “I run for Ice Cream” (like those Nike shirts that say I run for wine or beer). This looks fantastic. I love simple dishes like this- delicious, filling, nutritious! Beautius

  3. haha, work out to eat what you want! that’s a good motto.

    i’ve never had bulgar before. i love little grains like that though like quinoa and cous cous. looks like a solid dinner right there! good work.

  4. Meals like this are fabulous. There’s so many beautiful colors and textures..not to mention flava!

  5. I hate that bulgar sounds so similar to “vulgar.” (Why do ALL of the healthy foods have strange names, anyway?) Other than that, I do want to try it!

  6. But more importantly, what flavor of ice cream did you get? :)

  7. angieinatlanta

    Whatever works is good in my opinion! Oh ice cream, is there anything you can’t do!?

  8. Oooh ice cream sandwiches are the best. I love the cookie ones, yum. Damn now I want one.

  9. That bulgur with veggies looks awesome!! :)

  10. That veggie and bulgar dish looks awesome!

  11. Yummy yum! That looks awesome and flavorful – love all of the colors!