I am thankful

Sometimes at Thanksgiving dinner, we go around the table and say what we are thankful for. We didn’t do that this year, but I thought of some things anyway:

*I’m on my mom’s PC and don’t know how to make a bullet point. My list would look prettier with bullets. Alt + a bunch of numbers? Seriously, PC get with the program, option 8 is way easier.*

Mostly I am thankful that my dad has recovered. He had major surgery in March and, after a few complications that landed him back in the hospital, he seems to be doing totally fine.

I am also thankful for my best friend, my husband. I know that sounds so cheesy, but it’s true. Both that I’m thankful for him and that he’s my best friend.

We got to come to DC this year for Thanksgiving. Last year, I decided to stay in Atlanta and while we did make a Thanksgiving dinner, it just wasn’t the same. Due to the nature of Jason’s job (he’s in tv), he normally doesn’t have holidays off. But he requested off for this Thanksgiving last year and he was granted his request. When you aren’t able to always spend holidays with your husband, it makes the ones you can spend together very special.

Murphy. He is also my best friend. He’s like a person. We had to board him while we came to DC. We went to a new place and they have webcams so we’ve been watching him. He looks so sad! It’s good to know that he’s been cared for but he just looks like he misses us. He’s just laying there. :( I wish I could have brought him to DC but I keep telling him that he’d have to fly with the luggage and he wouldn’t like that.

Then of course, I’m thankful for my family and friends and having a job and being in good health.

See, wouldn’t that list look better with bullets? I suppose I could google how to do it on PC, but I’m lazy.

I took a bunch of Thanksgiving pictures, but posting them requires downloading them to my macbook, finding my mom’s internet cable and unplugging it from her PC to the macbook. You all know what a turkey looks like anyway!

For any local, DC-area bloggers – we’re having a little blogger get-together on Saturday morning in Bethesda. If you would like to join us, email me and let me know!

7 responses to “I am thankful

  1. Love your list! My favorite part is the ‘bullet’ about Murphy. I feel the same way about my pooch. I know it was hard to leave him, but I’m sure he’s in great hands. :) Glad you’re having a great holiday with your husband and family in D.C.!

  2. Glad to hear your dad is doing well; I know what its like to have a parent in and out of the hospital and it really frigging sucks.

  3. Computers are crazy! Weird on the bullet points thing.

    Anyways…I’m so happy you got to spend Thanksgiving with loved ones. I can certainly see how it wouldn’t be the same. I always think how hectic our days are traveling between two families, but I know I wouldn’t change it for a thing. It’s so nice to have that many loved ones to spend time with.

  4. I am glad you were able to spend Thanksgiving with your husband. I am looking forward to that next year :D Aw, poor Murph- that is so cool you can see him and you are definitely right- better than flying cargo!

    I am so glad your dad is healthy :)

  5. Not cheesy at all…a friendship is the best foundation for a lasting, loving, amazing marriage, I think :) My hubby is my BFF, too :) Happy belated Thanksgiving! So glad yours was wonderful!!

  6. Yay for awesome blogger meet-ups!

  7. Great list, Lee! Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! I’m glad you got to spend it with your husband – I know how it feels to have to work around work schedules this time of year so I’m glad you got to spend the whole day together. Awesome!