Day Three in MD

You know what else I am thankful for? Wi-fi. My mom doesn’t have wi-fi and it’s making it really hard to blog. I am managing to get a weak signal from the neighbor’s house. Yay for townhouses.

I can’t believe the 4-day weekend is almost over. We’ve been busy, busy, busy. We had dinner on Thursday at my dad’s house. My stepmother made a ton of food, including some special vegetarian stuffing and brussels sprouts (everyone else’s had bacon) for me. I somehow forgot to get pictures of most of the food, but we also had sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, green beans and of course, there was a turkey.

IMG_4447.JPG

I was extremely full after dinner, but managed to have a piece of pie anyway.

IMG_4437.JPG

I started Friday morning out with a run. My mom lives right on the Capitol Crescent Trail so I always try to run there when I am visiting. My plan was to run 6 miles, which I did, but it wasn’t pleasant. I don’t know if it was the 2.5 glasses of wine that I had at Thanksgiving dinner or it was just one of those runs, but it sucked and I felt kind of nauseous the entire time. It didn’t help that it was cold and rainy out. I got it done and that’s the important part, right?

Since we didn’t get to spend Thanksgiving with my mom (the joys of having divorced parents), we had a second Thanksgiving dinner at her house on Friday.

IMG_4457.JPG

My mom made spinach and meat lasagna and chicken caccitore.

IMG_4466.JPG

I made brussels sprouts and cookies.

IMG_4468.JPG

IMG_4461.JPG

This morning brought another blogger meet up. This is the second time I’ve met up with bloggers in the past week. When it rains, it pours, right? I met up with Erin, Emily, Sana and Erin’s roommate at Le Pain Quotidien for breakfast.

IMG_4487.JPG

I had some sort of porridge that was one of their daily specials. I don’t know what it is, but oatmeal always tastes so good to me in restaurants and so blah when I make it at home. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.

IMG_4486.JPG

I used to get nervous at blogger meet-ups, but everyone is always so nice as were these ladies. We had a nice time chatting.

Jason had requested that we check out Ben’s Chili Bowl while we were here. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that they had several vegetarian items on their menu so I was pumped to try it out.

We walked to the metro and took it to the U Street station and were kind of bummed to see a huge line that wrapped around the building.

IMG_4493.JPG

We wouldn’t have minded waiting if it wasn’t windy and freezing outside. Instead of waiting, we walked down the street and ended up in a noodle place. A huge bowl of warm noodle soup was perfect to warm us up.

IMG_4504.JPG

Ben’s Chili Bowl will have to wait for next time, I suppose. One more night here and then back to Atlanta, so I’m off to enjoy it. Although, it’s really freakin’ cold out…

10 responses to “Day Three in MD

  1. I had internet for the days I was gone, but no time to even think about getting on line! Looks like you are having a great trip and I am sorry I missed dinner the other night. Have a safe trip home!

  2. I can’t imagine not having wi-fi for more than 2 hours while I’m awake. I feel your pain, my dear.

    I guess one upside of having divorced parents is that you get two Thanksgiving dinners.

    Ben’s is ALWAYS packed! You’ve got to be willing to brave the lines!

  3. The post looks great :)! It was so nice meeting you let’s keep in touch via blogs :)

  4. Great meeting you! Ditto to Sana…keep in touch! Safe travels home to Atlanta.
    - Brittany (Erin’s Roommate)

  5. Looks like you had a great long holiday weekend! Yay for more blogger meet-ups! Apparently, that was the theme for us this past week. :) Welcome back to the A!

  6. Awesome long weekend – and nice job on the run. I didn’t work out. at. all. Crazy! Love the blogger meet-up – so fun!!

  7. It looks like you had a great Thanksgiving! Fun blogger meet up too!

  8. I’m sad I couldn’t make it to the meet-up.
    Are you coming back in December?

  9. I’m so bummed I overslept and missed the blogger meetup :( I really wanted to meet everyone. I’m glad that you had such a good time!! I absolutely love U st corridor, there are tons of amazing restaurants. Utopia (which is near the noodle restaurant) is delicious and during the weekend nights there is live jazz music. Plus Chix (on 11th) is amazing! Chix specializes in peruvian chicken but also serves several vegetarian items. The black bean hummus is one of my favorites!! Ben’s Chili Bowl is actually kind of overrated. There’s always a long line and I don’t think the chili is anything that great. On