A Tale of Two Chilis

It’s December. How did that happen? Seriously, wasn’t I just on my honeymoon? The first of December is also a special day in our house. It’s someone’s birthday.

IMG_4543.JPG

Murphy is four years old! I might have gone to the pet store at lunch specifically to buy him that present that he’s chewing on. Please ignore that rug that really needs vacuuming.

In additional to Murphy’s birthday, today was our first really cold day. I know that people have the impression that it’s pretty warm year round in Georgia, but it’s not! Today’s high was 45 and the low was 27. I know it’s not exactly the arctic, but it’s still pretty damn cold! The cold weather makes me want to put on my favorite sweats and curl up on the couch. Or drink a mug of hot chocolate. Or clean the bathroom. Really, it makes me want to do anything but run on the treadmill!

While I did run last weekend’s long run and a 2-miler on Monday, I just haven’t been into the training plan that I created for myself. I’m supposed to do a 5-mile speed session tonight that I’m pretty much dreading. I’m going to push through, though, because I know that it’ll be worth it in the long run. I am definitely doing this 10K at the end of February and I know that I’ll be really mad at myself if race day comes around and I’ve only half assed trained. I tell myself over and over, “In order to get faster, you have to run faster.” and it’s true. I need to listen to myself.

While, it wasn’t really cold yesterday, it poured all afternoon and into the night. Fortunately, I’d gone to the gym during my lunch break and was able to stay in my warm house at night. I’m one of those people who is always cold. I’ve slept in a sweatshirt for the past two nights. (Jason says it’s because I don’t use a top sheet, but I don’t think that’s why and I don’t like the top sheet!) When I am cold, I want warm foods like chili, which is what we had last night.

I typically make chili with soy crumbles but last night Jason wanted real meat, so we made two pots of chili.

IMG_4533.JPG

This is the recipe for mine. Jason’s was the same only he used ground beef.

Vegetarian Chili (adapted from a Vegweb recipe)
Serves 4

½ onion, chopped
½ red pepper, chopped
handful of mushrooms, chopped
handful of jalapeno peppers, chopped
red chili pepper, chopped
½ can diced tomatoes
½ can tomato sauce
6 oz. soy crumbles
½ can black beans, rinsed
½ can kidney beans, rinsed
2 oz chopped green chilis
½ tsp cumin
½ tbsp chili powder
½ tbsp oil

1. Saute veggies in oil for about five minutes or until soft.
2. Add everything else and bring to a boil.
3. Turn down heat and let simmer for 30 minutes.

What goes better with chili than cornbread? Nothing. I made Evan’s recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand: I used fat-free milk instead of skim, 1/4 cup of egg beaters instead of an egg and agave nectar instead of honey. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

14 responses to “A Tale of Two Chilis

  1. love the puppy pic!!

  2. Saw your comment on Meals and Miles and wanted to say thank you..
    Lew

  3. This looks delicious! Is there anything better than a hot, spicy bowl of chili on a cold night?

  4. Buy cute workout clothes to motivate you! Or you can be like me and buy cute clothes and not run ;)

  5. Happy B-Day Murphster! Is this the weekend you’ll be in SC?

  6. Happy birthday to Murphy!!! Nothing beats chili on a cold winter night!

  7. Hey Lee! I’m soo with you. I think its more the darkness than the cold but the minute I’m done with work I just want to go home and get cozy. Your chili and cornbread looks delicious. Yum!

    Also, happy late birthday to Murphy!

  8. Oh gosh, it has been so cold this week! When I got home from work on Tuesday (rainy and dark), I definitely curled up on my couch with pizza delivery and a movie. :)

  9. I hate speed work too. I’ve been making my husband come on short runs with me because he is fast (but has no long-distance running endurance) and makes me runner faster to keep up.

  10. It was definitely chili weather! I just ate some veggie soup for lunch and the heater is roaring next to me! Happy Birthday to your pup!

  11. Cold weather makes me want to hide out inside, too. It’s SO much harder to get out of my toasty warm bed in the morning to work out!

    Happy belated Birthday to sweet Murphy!

  12. Aw, happy birthday Murphy! :)

  13. I’m a sucker for cornbread. I’d make the chili just so I had a side to go with my bread! What a great looking dinner for a cold night.

    I find chili is the one way I can sneak veggie crumbles to my husband without him knowing the difference. I just have to hide the package in the trashcan :)