On Flexibility

I’ve said it before, I’m not flexible. I can’t even touch my toes. It’s something that I work on and hopefully one day will achieve. Or I’ll at least achieve greater flexibility. Aside from being physically inflexible, I’m pretty inflexible mentally.

I’m not a go with the flow type of person. I like routine in my life and when my routine gets interrupted, well, I don’t like that. Tonight’s plan was to go to the gym after work and run 4 miles. I had Jason set the rice cooker so our rice would be done at 8, which would also be when our Vegetable Korma from the new issue of Cooking Light would be ready.

Well, as you can probably guess, my night didn’t go according to plan. When I got in my car after work, I realized that I’d forgotten my gym bag. So I drove home instead. There was traffic and I got home ten minutes later than I normally would have. When I got home, Murphy was rambunctious and in desperate need of a walk. So I took him for a 20 minute walk around the neighborhood.

Then I went to the gym. I like the gym near my office much more than the one near my house. For one, the one near my house is incredibly hot. The cardio machines are upstairs. Don’t they realize that heat rises?

I got on a treadmill after waiting in a line five people deep. I ran for 2 miles and it sucked. I’m not normally a big sweater but I was drenched. The run felt much more difficult than it should have. After 2 miles, I got off my treadmill like a good little time limit rule obeyer and waited in line again, also behind five people. I did the second half of my run and it was also kind of shitty.

When I got home, Jason told me that the rice cooker had never started, so our rice wasn’t ready. Plus, it was already 8 o’clock and I still had to make the Korma.

I started getting all pissy and then I realized that I need to be more flexible. So what if I’m home and cooking dinner an hour later than I’d wanted? So what if the rice wasn’t ready at the time that it was supposed to be? So what if the potatoes in the korma took much longer to cook than the recipe instructed? In the grand scheme of things, these are tiny little details of my day, details that I will forgot by tomorrow, probably.

And the korma was good. It was 9:30 before we ate, but it was good and that’s what’s important. And maybe one day, I’ll be able touch my toes too. Or maybe I won’t. I’m flexible, or at least working on it.

IMG_5727.JPG

(recipe from March 2011 issue of Cooking Light)

23 responses to “On Flexibility

  1. I’m impressed that you made the dinner, anyway! I get impatient with recipes that take long when our time is cut short, but this looks like it was definitely worth it. :)

    And one day you will Definitely touch those toes, no doubt.

  2. ahh, i hate days like that (and runs like that). tomorrow is a new day!

  3. Sorry about your day! I’m just impressed you waited in line for another treadmill to finish your run. Awesome discipline!

    At least it isn’t 20 degrees and icy… :)

  4. I’m so bad about that too!!! I really need to be more flexible.

  5. I’m the same way and I’m working on it! Life is totally too short to worry about the itty bitty things! Glad you got in the workout and had a great dinner.

  6. I’m the same way– a night like this would have pissed me off to no end. Glad the meal was good, and good for you for cooking anyway– I think I would have just eaten cereal at that point!

  7. Sorry things got jumbled. I’m impressed that you made the dinner though, I would have made a 5 minute grilled cheese sandwich and been done with it.

  8. several docs and PTs have been baffled by my tight hamstrings…i couldn’t touch my toes even as a kid. i’m funny on the other side…i CAN had unplanned days, but that kinda needs to be planned itself :P i do NOT do well when set plans are thrown off

  9. I am inflexible, too – both physically, and mentally. :-) The GOOD news is that, after a couple of years of yoga, I can finally touch my toes! Now I just have to work on the mental part. But at least you got in your run and had a great dinner!

  10. I totalllly could’ve written this post myself, my dear! Both on the inability to touch my toes (yay, I’m not alone!) and on mental inflexibility. I’m working on both. It’s taking me a LOT longer than I thought it would but I’m getting there…slowly learning to flow more. I’m glad your night ended up not being a total loss afterall…see? Progress!

  11. I am sorry you had a rough night. I am very inflexible too (mentally) but I am working on it. Keith is very go-with-the-flow and he is teaching me a lot about not putting so much negative energy into the things that go wrong. He says that when things don’t go according to plan it makes it more enjoyable if you can stay relaxed and even laugh about it. Much easier said than done and I am working on it. But change is hard.

  12. I’m with you…I get really irritated and bitchy when things don’t go according to plan. It’s something I’ve been trying to work on because it’s unnecessary to get upset over little things. It’s easier said than done though when I feel like it’s been ingrained in me ;)

  13. I can so relate to how you were feeling yesterday, Lee. Sometimes we make plans in our head and it can be so frustrating when they don’t pan out. I’ve really been trying to work on being more flexible in all aspects of my life too. Its not worth being so rigid and getting upset!

    Also, your dinner looks awesome!

  14. I am trying to learn to be more flexible too. I am a definite schedule keeper to a fault. Dinner looks delicious though. I hope you are having a great day!

  15. I’m impressed you went through with dinner at that hour. I would’ve thrown in the towel, made a sandwich and called it good.

  16. I totally would have resorted to chips and dip, so I admire your tenacity in showing that dinner who’s boss. ;)

  17. I hate days like those but sometimes you just to roll with it like you did :)

    I can’t touch my toes either!

  18. I am really, really, REALLY inflexible! I took dance when I was 13 and the teacher was horrified that I couldn’t touch my toes. My sister is too, and the teacher said that he’s never known flexible twins. I guess that kind of makes sense- we were crowded in the womb :)

  19. I had a last-minute assignment pop up today…it certainly is not easy trying to be flexible with your time!

  20. I can’t touch my toes either and am surprised by how many people commented the same. I thought I was a weirdo!

  21. YES to what my sister said! I too could have written this post word for word!! And um, you had to wait in line AGAIN to run the second part?! I would have left, because I also have no patience ;-) Good for you!