Big Green Salad

While a big salad is often my go to entree when I go out to eat, I don’t eat a lot of salad at home. When I go grocery shopping, I usually buy most of my produce for specific recipes, so aside from lettuce and maybe carrots and peppers, which I like to have on hand for snacks, I don’t have a lot of salad ingredients. A lettuce salad equals a boring salad. I don’t know if I was subconsciously craving nutrients when I did my last grocery shopping or what, but I discovered that I had a ton of vegetables in the fridge and they needed to be used.

IMG_5730.JPG

That would be lettuce, bok choy, broccoli, portobello mushroom, brussels sprouts, tomato, cucumber and avocado. Yup, I think that’s enough for a big restaurant style salad.

I’m not a fan of raw broccoli and I don’t know if you are supposed to eat brussels sprouts raw, but I can’t imagine they taste good if you are. So I decided to roast some of my veggies beforehand.

IMG_5739.JPG

I combined the mushrooms, brussels sprouts, broccoli and bok choy with a tablespoon of olive oil and then seasoned them with Emeril’s Essence. I roasted them at 385 degrees for 20 minutes.

When the roasted vegetables were ready, I put them on top of lettuce, cucumber, 1/4 avocado and about a 1/4 cup of shelled edamame. Then I topped it all with a little bit of Ginger dressing and some nutritional yeast!

IMG_5740.JPG

Just like a restaurant style salad, only better. By the way, roasting bok choy isn’t the best idea. It got really limp. (TWSS?)

Going along with my green theme, I had something green for dessert.

IMG_5746.JPG

Guilty pleasure. Seriously. My name is Lee and I’m addicted to low fat ice cream treats. We can’t all be perfect, right? And if this is my downfall, I’d say I’m doing pretty well.

I keep forgetting to mention this, but Tina and I are arranging an Atlanta Blogger Dinner on Saturday, March 12th. Email me if you are interested in coming. We’re trying to get a final headcount by the 5th.

23 responses to “Big Green Salad

  1. Ummm…that salad looks AWESOME! I’ve never tried nutritional yeast before, but I really want to. Heard it has a parmesan flavor…

    Oh yeah!! Can’t wait for the blogger meet-up! I’ll be there! :)

  2. Ahhh! I wish I lived in Atlanta so I could join you ladies! Such fun! Your salad looks delish btw, I LOVE roasted veggies in salad! Must do that more often!

  3. That is my kind of salad! I’m craving salad now. :-) Wish I lived close enough to have dinner with you and Tina. How fun to live near other bloggers. I don’t know of any that live near me. (Nowhere, Ohio :-))

  4. Good to know that the roasted bok choy doesn’t work roasted…limp veggies are never good, right?

  5. I would totally love to meet up with fellow Atl bloggers. Unfortunately the date won’t work for me this time. My friend is coming into town to run the Sham Rock’N Roll with me the next day. Maybe I can finally meet everyone the next time there is a get together.

  6. Funny – I don’t like cooked broccoli, but love it raw. Same with carrots.

    Have you tried the Skinny Cow Chocolate Brownie? So good.

    I wold love to meet up! I’ll have to say a tentative yes though – the Tough Mudder is that day in North GA and our time slot isn’t until later in the day. Please keep me posted and I’ll do my best to get there!

  7. Nutritional yeast on salad? Brilliant!

  8. I like to add nutritional yeast to my roasted veggies. Actually had roasted onion, brussels and carrots with nooch for dinner last night.

    I like to make salad at home, but it’s gotta be spruced up the way yours was!

  9. The salad looks great! I’m not a fan of raw broccoli either. Unless I’m dipping it in ranch!

  10. mmm nothing like a big salad (I’m a veggie freak ;)). You can eat brussels raw- they taste very green. I like them but they’re definitely not for everyone. I really enjoy combining hot and cold veggies. Looks perfect to me! I wish I could come to the meet up ! We have guests in town that weekend

  11. I haven’t eaten a salad in longer than I can remember. I need to get on that.

  12. I hate making salads at home! I don’t know why….I HATE chopping things up, so I think that’s it. I do love it when I actually suck it up and take the time!

    Wish I could come to your meet up. :-( BUT, I think I might be coming to ATL this summer!!!

  13. Hey Lee! Your salad looks awesome. I’m not a fan of raw broccoli either… roasting it and the brussels was an awesome idea. I love low fat desserts too. In fact, I’m trying to figure out which one I’m going to pick up at the grocery store tonight. :)

    I wish I could join you on your meet up. :) Have a great day!

  14. The salad looks great!! Fun meet up – I wish I could join but we’re celebrating St. Patty’s that day so I can’t make it. :( Hope you’re having a good day!

  15. Awwe, wish I could meet you and Tina too! <3

  16. No fair! I want to live in Atlanta so I can meet you and Tina. Sigh. Have fun without me! haha!

  17. YES at the TWSS :) I don’t really make salads either, but I’d rather make them myself then get one at a restaurant- I’m picky :)

  18. Um I LOVE ice cream treats that are low fat too. Skinny Cow ice cream cups are my FAVE! They feel waaay bigger than 1/2 cup of ice cream, don’t they? Yum. Now I want some!

  19. Veggies and chicken roasted always welcome… Any time… And for ice cream? even if it is low fat… bit doubtful…!