Happy President’s Day

I actually had the day off today which was great. I sat on my ass and did nothing. I should have gone to the gym, and I guess I still can, but I know that it’s okay to take a rest day. I am not sure when the last rest day I took was – maybe Tuesday? I guess I wasn’t completely lazy. I went to Whole Foods to drop off my recycling and bought an artichoke. I had a craving for one. Unfortunately, I had to boil it because it was so big that it didn’t fit in my steamer. It was still good though.

I made strawberry pancakes this morning for myself and Jason.
Pancakes:

3/4 cup of Hogdson Mill’s Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancake Mix
3 tbsp egg whites
1 cup skim milk
about a cup of sliced strawberries
about 1.5 tsps of canola oil

Mix and ummm…pancakize.

We ate them with Sugar Free Syrup. I’m trying to cut down on my fake sugars but I just am not at the point where I feel comfortable eating real syrup, especially when I’m trying to focus on weight loss.

I kind of snacked some during the day. Nothing horrible, mostly hummus.

I made dinner too. The above mentioned artichoke which I’m too lazy to rotate the picture of!

I also made Mexican Style Pasta Salad with Beans and Corn from The PDQ (Pretty Darn Quick) Vegetarian Cookbook.

My food photography definitely needs some help. I have a crapola camera and bad natural light in my apartment. Oh well.

3 responses to “Happy President’s Day

  1. I’ve been using powdered sugar on my Kashi Waffles in the mornings. It agrees with me better than the sugar-free syrup. It’s like 30 calories for 1 tbsp, and trust me when I tell you that’s ALOT of powdered sugar. It makes it pretty too, especially with fruit on top.

    Glad to see you blogging again.

  2. Happy new blog! I’m following along now!

  3. Yay! People found me!