Today was better

There’s really nothing you can do about a bad eating day except start over and that’s what I did today. I’m trying to see that I get a mixture of carb, protein, fruit/veggie and maybe a little fat in each meal. Lauren is right in her comment from my previous post; my diet is definitely heavily focused on carbs.

Apparently, this is just going to turn into a list of what I eat everyday kind of blog, but whatever.

Breakfast – 1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese mixed with 1 tbsp almond butter, 1 banana and 2/3 cup cereal.
Lunch – that same damn tuna/bean wrap that I’ve had for the past few days; non fat yogurt; clementine
Snack – a pear; later some raw broccoli with low fat ranch
Pre-workout snack – 2 pieces of low fat cheese; 1 wasa bread

5 Mile run

Dinner – courtesy of Chef Jason – whole wheat penne with marinara, peppers and olives and a bit of cheese; salad with low fat ranch.

I don’t normally eat so much pasta but Jason wanted to cook dinner and it’s one of the things that he likes to make. I’ve gotten him in the habit of buying whole wheat. He doesn’t like it but I think it’ll grow on him. He also bought some Two Buck Chuck. I did not partake. I had Cherry Coke Zero instead and that was fine with me.

Mile 5 mile run was on the treadmill at Jason’s apartment gym. Let me gush about this apartment gym for a minute. First of all, there are 4 treadmills, 4 ellipticals, 2 bikes and 2 stairmasters. And, they all have personal TVs on them! When we got there, there was only one free treadmill and of course that was the one that had the broken TV. So I did 2 miles on it and when another one freed up, I did the remainder on it. Running does go by a lot quicker when you have Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy on.

My feet are blistery.

2 responses to “Today was better

  1. James and I have been working on making sure we’re balancing each meal. Making sure there is some protein/carb/fat to balance each ‘meal’ (snacks included). Even with a carb heavy dinner like pasta, we try to make sure there is protein & good fats to balance it. For example, we’re likely to add some ground turkey to the pasta & enjoy a little french bread dipped in EVOO. I also try to drink Soy Milk with dinner now, instead of soda (still drinking way too much diet coke, but small changes are happening).

    Since we started focusing on ‘balancing’ our meals (going on 2-3 weeks now), we’re not counting calories as tediously and weight’s coming off a lot easier (4lbs for me, 8 for James)

  2. The toughest time that I have getting a good combo is for my snacks. What kind of snacks do you usually have?