Now vs then

I just finished Stage One, workout A from my lifting book. Here is how I’ve improved in the past 6-8 weeks. (I’m not exactly sure how long it took, I didn’t write the dates down)

Squats – I began using an 8 pound weight in both hands doing 2 sets of 15 reps. I ended using the V-squat machine on 90 pounds with 3 sets of 8 reps. I’m not sure how the comparison from dumbells to machine really works but it sounds a lot heavier.

Push-ups – This is hard to explain because I did them on the Smith machine at an angle. When the angle got too easy, I’d lower it. I don’t know the exactly measurements but it went significantly lower.

Seated Row – I began with 45 pounds doing 2 sets of 15 reps. I ended with 60 pounds doing 3 sets of 8.

Step Ups – I began on the third setting from the top as far as how high the platform was. I did 15 pounds, 2 sets of 15. I ended with the second setting from the top of the platform, 25 pounds, 3 sets of 8. I AM SO GLAD THESE ARE OVER!! I HATE THEM.

Prone Jacknife – I went from 8 to 15. But I couldn’t for the life of me, figure out how to get my body into a pike position. It just didn’t work so I put my knees into my chest.

I was going to do my last long run today but then I realized that I had this coupon to The Limited that expires tomorrow and that the mall would probably be closed for Easter so I decided to do it tomorrow instead.

I had an Easter treat – Cadbury Mini Eggs. They are not the worst of the worst. They have 9 grams of fat and 210 calories but they are damn good and I only have them once a year.

Comments are closed.