Race day

I got up this morning at 5:30, ate a half pita with some almond butter and we were on our way to the Marta Station to go to the race. We got to the station a little after 6 and the train was pretty much all runners. We took it to the Five Points Station and walked to Centennial Olympic Park. I was excited but mainly I was cold! It was probably in the low 40s out. Quite a difference from last years sweltering heat.


I’m cold!

The race began. I crossed the start line about twenty minutes after the first runners. The course was different this year. It went down Piedmont Avenue, up North Ave and then through another street towards the Old Fourth Ward area. I began slowly and began to warm up after about three miles.

The water and gatorade stations were great this year. There was probably one every other mile. I started to get more into a groove around mile 4. It went through Inman Park and Little 5 Points which is always nice for scenery. We went up Freedom Parkway and passed the 10K mat. Then the course looped back up North Ave to North Highland. The marathoners stayed straight on North Highland while the half went left. In the Highlands, I felt good because I was really familiar with the area. I grabbed some pretzels from a spectator.

Around mile 9 or 10, a motorcade came through and it was the man in the lead for the first marathon! He had already gotten to mile 22 when we were all at mile 10. The course then went through the Park and then back up through Tech and back to Centennial Olympic Park. I felt fine during the whole thing. I didn’t stop to walk at all. I did stop for every water/gatorade stop though. I also, at some point, had a Jolly Rancher and a Vanilla Gu.

Jason was at the finish line and then somehow found me again after I got my medal and blanket. I ran it in 2:29. That wasn’t a PR by any means (PR is 2:17) but considering it was really hilly and I didn’t do the best training, it’s fine.

I’ve basically been sleeping and eating all day. I can feel that I’m going to be sore tomorrow.

Comments are closed.