No, I’m not pregnant!

I have the same relationship with binge drinking that say, a 23 year old would have.  Problem is, I was 23 seven years ago.  A lot of my friends are like this too, I guess.  When we go out, we drink.  Except that sometimes I don’t have the little angel on my shoulder telling me that I’ve had to much or had enough and it’s time to go home.  So I either stay up and end up doing something stupid, or if I manage to not embarrass myself, I still feel bad the next day.  Hangovers are a bitch when you’re thirty, let me tell you.  

So, after quite a day of bar hopping last weekend, Jason and I decided that we wouldn’t drink until after the Peachtree which is on July 4th.  I was gchatting with a friend yesterday and I mentioned that I hadn’t had a drink in six days.  His response, “What, are you pregnant?”  See why it’s hard?  

It’s not physically hard; my body isn’t craving a drink or anything.  But it’s just sometimes I don’t know what to do with myself if I’m not going to a bar with my friends.  I know that I could go and have a diet coke or something but I know well enough that that’s not going to happen.  And so, in an effort to not make alcohol such a big part of my life, I end up turning down invitations from friends and that’s not what I want either.  

Le sigh.

3 responses to “No, I’m not pregnant!

  1. OH sista I am soooooooooooo with you. I am 32 and canNOT handle hangovers anymore. But, like you, what else is there to do for a single girl, but go out to bars with friends? I have actually quit drinking during the week (thanks to yoga in the evenings). But the weekends usually revolve around booze.

  2. Sorry, me again. Regardinig the shorts, I have been getting the shorts a size bigger than I wear and that seems to help with the riding up. The Brooks Elements shorts are awesome.

  3. I’m definitely getting the shorts. I feel like an idiot when I wear my current running shorts; I am always yanking on them.