Getting back into it

I need, need, need to go to the gym tonight. It’s just so crowded right after work that it’s not even worth it. The treadmills have 20 minute time limits on them and while they don’t actually stop working after 20 minutes or anything like that, I feel guilty and end up either getting off or having a horrible run because I feel death stares in the back of my head.

So, I’ll probably go in an hour or so. I’m supposed to do a 5 mile run, which includes a mile warm up, then 3 miles at a 10 min mile and then a mile cool down. I’m just in that beginning stage of half-marathon training where I haven’t been running much and the idea of 5 miles on the treadmill seems like about as much fun as a hole in the head. But I’ll go anyway because I’m determined to PR at this race. I think my previous half marathon PR is 2:16.

Jason and I went out to dinner last night at this little neighborhood bar/restaurant that has a cool patio. I had a black bean burger with a side salad and a glass of wine. Afterwards, we stopped at Publix and got some fat free ice cream (which has brownie pieces in it so I’m sincerely doubting their claim of being fat-free) and went back to my house to watch Project Runway. It was a lovely evening. I think I’d much rather do low-key things like that than go out and party now. Of course, ask me that on a Saturday night and I might have a different answer.

Comments are closed.