Over too soon

If every weekend was a 3-day weekend, I’d be a lot happier. I get a massive case of the Sunday blahs each week. I don’t know why; I mind the thought of going to work a lot more than I actually mind working. Once again, the weekend came and went way too fast.

On Friday, several people at my office were going to Ted’s Montana Grill for lunch. Being that I don’t eat bison and that I wanted to get a workout in, I skipped it in favor of the gym. I did upper body. Nothing really of interest. After work, I stopped at Costco to get some fish. I usually buy salmon, but this time got halibut instead for a change. I’m not sure that I’ve ever made halibut before but it looks like a basic white fish. Emily wanted to go out for drinks that night, but I was tired and knew that I had to get in my first training long run the next day, so I stayed home and spent my night with Clinton and Stacey on tv instead.

Saturday morning I slept in too late to run outside. By the time that I woke up around 10:30, it was already in the high 80s. So that meant either waiting until evening with the hope that it would cool off, or doing the 6 miler on the treadmill. Jason wanted to go to the pool and I knew that if I spent the day by the pool, I would not want to run afterwards, so I chose the yucky option, the treadmill.

I was running slowly, the training plan called for an 11:39 mile, but I was running more like 11:19. Six slow miles on a treadmill is not fun, especially since I haven’t run that distance in a while. But I managed and rewarded myself with some pool time. After the pool, we went to a new restaurant, Diesel Filling Station. It was kind of a bar/restaurant with a nice patio. We’d been there before, for drinks, but decided to come back because they had interesting appetizers. We ended up splitting four of them since they were pretty small. We had calamari, grilled green tomatoes, tuna salsa and blac eyed pea hummus. They were all good, but the calamari and tuna salsa stood out. The calamari was in some sort of buffalo sauce. I’d normally shy away from it since it’s deep fried, but it was so good. The tuna salsa was basically chunks of raw tuna, tomatoes and avocados with some grilled bread for dipping. Basically my favorite foods ever mixed together. When I saw that on the menu, I knew I had to get it. I also enjoyed the tomatoes. The hummus was good, but nothing to write home (or blog, rather) about. A very decent, and somewhat different, menu.

Today was the highlight of my weekend, however. I went whitewater rafting on the Ocoee River in TN. We got up at about 6:30 this morning and headed out at around 7:15. It was about a 2 hour drive to the river. When we got there, it was sort of chilly out and very foggy. The fog lifted and it warmed up by the time we got to the river. We did the middle Ocoee which had 18 sections of class 3 and 4 rapids. On the first one, I fell out of the raft. Typical! Jason pulled me back into the boat and everyone made fun of me. It was a lot of fun and I managed to stay put for the rest of the trip. Afterwards we went to a Mexican restaurant that was nearby. I ate too many chips but other than that, picked a healthy (for Mexican) option. I had some sort of vegetarian tacos without the cheese. They were two small soft tacos with grilled veggies in them. They came with rice and beans which I ate all of. But hey, paddling all day works up an appetite.

And then I napped.

Comments are closed.