Stepping it up a notch

So, for all the bitching that I’ve been doing for the past year about losing weight, I haven’t really done all that much to do so.  I mean, sure I eat healthy food most of the time and I exercise but obviously, it’s not enough.  Something clicked the other day.  I think it was seeing my backside in the mirror at Target in shorts that were way too tight.  If I want to lose 10-15 pounds, I need to do more.  So I decided to start keeping a food journal and write down what exactly I’m eating.  I do eat well, but I am a big snacker.  A handful of cereal here, a bowl of ice cream (even if it is fat free) there.  It all adds up.  This is my way of holding myself accountable.  I think it’s working.  On Monday, I was tempted to eat a tortilla on my way home from work.  I knew we were having burritos for dinner and I didn’t want to have to write down that I’d eaten two tortillas.  So I didn’t eat it.  I’ve been making actual dinners and waiting to eat them as opposed to having a snack to “tide me over”.  Sure, this has only been going on for two days, but I feel like if I can keep it up, the number on the scale will go down and my clothes will fit again.  I’m going to allow myself a cheat meal once a week because I still want to be able to go out with friends and everything and we usually meet up at bars.   My goal is to lose 5-10 pounds before the cruise in a month.

Comments are closed.