The illusive track

There is a school that I drive by all the time and it has a football stadium with a track.  I always see people jogging there.  One of my co-workers talks about going there all the time with her husband.  So, a few weeks ago, I decided that I would run there.  Except I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to get in.  All of the gates were padlocked.  I chalked it up to it being too late and went home.  Today, I decided to try again.  The school is about a mile from my house, so I walked/ran there.  My co-worker told me to go in by the tennis courts.  I found them, and went down some stairs that appeared to lead to the track.  But it was still locked.  I couldn’t figure it out.  There were people running on the track, there had to be a way in!  So I walked around the outskirts of the fence, trying to figure it out.  I just about gave up and started to go back to the parking lot when I saw a man walking to his car who had obviously been running.  I asked him how to get inside the fence.  He said that normally it was unlocked, but that today it wasn’t so you had to slip through this gap in the fence.  My co-worker had actually mentioned something about that, but if the man hadn’t showed me, I never would have found it.

So I finally go inside and did a mile around the track.  I sprinted the long part and walked the corners.  Then I climbed up and down the stadium stairs twice.  This was so much harder than it looked!  I kind of felt like I was going to puke.  I think I’m going to make it a goal to be able to do it 10 times.  It was getting sort of late and threatening to rain, so I just walked home again.  It doesn’t really sound like much but it was a good workout and very different from what I normally do.

Comments are closed.