Lazy Sunday

I spent most of the day being incredibly lazy. I woke up late, around noon. I had a craving for sushi, so went to Whole Foods and picked some up. After I ate, I took another nap and spent some time reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma. I did, however, make dinner.

Spicy Tortilla Soup

Spicy Tortilla Soup


I can’t remember where this recipe is from; I had it saved on my computer, so it came from somewhere online.

Spicy Tortilla Soup
Makes 5.5 cups
Nostick Vegetable oil spray
3/4 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 tbsp tomato paste (i used ketchup)
1 tsp cumin
4 cups vegetable broth
4 6-inch corn tortillas, cut into half inch strips (I used ww flour tortillas)
1.5 cups chopped tomatoes (I used canned with jalapenos)
2/3 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
2/3 cup chopped zucchini
1.5 tsp seeded jalapenos

Spray large nonstick saucepan with spray. Add onion and garlic; sover and cook over medium-low heat until almost tender, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Stir in tomato paste, cumin and chili powder. Add broth, tortillas and 2 tbsp cilantro; bring to a boil. Add tomatoes, beans, zucchini and jalapeno to soup. Cover, simmer until zucchini is tneder, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

The reason I was so pooped was because I had quite a busy day yesterday. It was Jason’s birthday. We went to Nakato for dinner. It was really good.

Hibatchi Chef

Hibatchi Chef


Onion Volcano

Onion Volcano

The meals all came with soup, salad, 4 shrimp and noodles. I chose scallops and shrimp for my entree. The scallops were awesome. They were very tender. All in all, it was a great meal.

After dinner, Jason’s inner rockstar made an appearance.

Rockstar Jason

Rockstar Jason

One response to “Lazy Sunday

  1. i am feeling mouthwatery the Onion Volcano is damn tempting!!!!!!here i found some interesting article on healthcareinindia.wordpress.com which helps to get your tummy in shape.