I’m allergic to running

Exercise Allergy #1: Cholinergic urticaria (itching)

It is the rise in body temperature that produces the itching, swelling, and small hives that some people experience. People who have this may also experience the same reaction in hot tubs, saunas, and see that they are more likely to get it on hot days. This rarely leads to anaphylaxis – the life-threatening drop in blood pressure that can be fatal in major allergic reactions.

From About.com

I get that on and off. Funny thing is it happens a lot more when it’s cold out than when it’s hot. My legs are primarily what itches but sometimes it’ll spread to my back. I did a short run today and my legs got incredibly itchy. I stopped to walk, which usually helps, but I didn’t. I must have looked like an idiot, standing on the sidewalk scratching my legs. I managed to get a short run in, but all in all, it wasn’t very fun. It’s gotten cold out and my headphones just weren’t working as an earmuff replacement.

I set a goal for myself that I was going to work out six days a week and I achieved it this week! A few of my friends thought that I would burn out but really, it keeps me out of trouble. I know that if I have to work out the next day, I’m not going to stay up late or have that extra glass of wine, or whatever. I like setting doable goals for myself. Makes me feel good when I achieve them. Of course, I was supposed to run a half-marathon today and I didn’t, but I’m not going to get down about that.

Comments are closed.