Where did the weekend go?

I didn’t really do much of anything this weekend and it’s still over in a flash. Oh well.

I got really worried today about job security. I think I’m okay but hearing about all the layoffs and how the economy is going to get worse before it gets better just makes me worry. I work in print advertising. Not the best place to be when company’s are trying to tighten their budgets. I know that there is no point in worrying about it; if it happens, it happens and I’ll deal but I just can’t seem to shake it. I got laid off of my last job back in 06. They eventually got rid of the entire marketing department but I was the first to go. That was in an okay economy. Ever since, I’ve been pretty scared that it could happen again. Fortunately, I’m kind of my own department at work. But unfortunately, if advertising keeps going down, the “department” might not be needed. I know I can’t keep myself up at night worrying about this but I just wanted to get it off my chest.

Aside from being a worrywart, I had a semi-productive day. Got some groceries at Trader Joe’s, went to a Pliates class at the gym with my friend Emily, did some laundry and made dinner. I was pleasantly surprised at how good my dinner was. I basically sauteed broccoli, water chestnuts, green pepper, garlic and shrimp in a little bit of oil and then some broth. I made a sauce out of no-chicken broth, soy sauce, szechuan sauce and some corn starch to thicken it. It seriously tasted just like something you would get in a chinese restaurant. I think the sauce could have used a tad more soy sauce but all in all, a success and super easy to make.
img_0080

3 responses to “Where did the weekend go?

  1. I feel you on the unsure economy. I work in a marketing department too and wehn they had some lay offs last week I held my breath as they passed me over. It’s a scary world out there and I’m glad I’m not the only one who see this.

  2. mm szechuan sauce that’s what I need to get some of! Try not to worry about the job, it really won’t change anything

  3. Meghann – it is scary. Fortunately for me, my company hasn’t had any layoffs and I have no idea if they will. I’m sorry that yours did but glad you survived them.

    Amanda – it was definitely the szechuan sauce that made it taste authentic. Yum!