Back in the City

Jason, Murphy and I went drove up to Jason’s parents for an early Christmas on Friday. They live in Seneca, SC which is about 2 hours from Atlanta.

Since we don’t know Murphy all too well, we were a little worried about how he’d react. Jason’s parents have two small dogs and Jason’s brother and sister-in-law, who drove down from Charleston, have a huge Rottweiler. There was no need to worry; Murphy had the time of his life.
img_0207
img_0203
He got that blue thing for a present and LOVES it.

I had a fun weekend but ate like shit. There just aren’t a lot of healthy options in a small town. It’s hard enough to find a restaurant that has a veggie option much less a healthy one. Sometimes I do feel like a burden because I’m picky about my food and I just didn’t want to add to the burden, so I ate what was offered. For lunch, we went to an American restaurant. I got a tuna steak sandwich with veggies instead of fries. There was still a lot of butter involved, but I figured it was a better choice than many others. For dinner, they ordered pizza. I had a veggie one, but there was a lot of cheese on it. I also consumed some wine and various chocolates.

I got a little bit of exercise. We took Murphy for some walks. I didn’t go for a run. I haven’t run with Murphy and I don’t know how he’ll be on the leash. I also only brought Uggs. We did have one little debacle with the dog. People were coming in and out of the house and he got out (so did the other dogs, but they’re trained to come when called). He saw a squirrel and some birds and booked it down the street. We got him back, but it scared me. If he had done that in Atlanta, he would have quite possibly been hit by a car. Fortunately, there weren’t any cars on the road when it happened so it was okay. We’re working on training, but starting with “sit” so he hasn’t learned “come” yet.

I’m trying to get back into the swing of exercise again. I mean, I only took one day off, I’m not sure why I feel like it’s been a long time. I went to Pilates class today which was nice. Tomorrow I’ll either run or spin. I didn’t count my Weight Watchers points yesterday; it was probably a lot but I’ll just try to stick with the actual number of points (21) for the rest of the week and not use my flex or activity points to make up for it.

One response to “Back in the City

  1. Hey! I saw you comment on Kath’s blog about the bourbon balls— I made them today as well but different (better!) … check em out

    http://runlmo1.blogspot.com/2008/12/chocolate-bourbon-truffles.html

    Delicious and no corn syrup necessary!