Muddy Adventure

It stopped raining around noon, so I decided to take Murphy out and explore a local park.
img_0246

img_0248

I had never been to this particular park before so I didn’t really know what to expect. It was basically a few trails in a nature preserve behind some houses.
img_0252

At first, the trail was gravelly. There were little maps that showed routes and it seemed like the whole thing was just a big circle with a few smaller trails that veered off.
img_0255

Murphy and I were walking along, having a nice time, when I suddenly realized that I was lost. Not only were we lost, but the trail had gotten very muddy. I kept seeing these map posts and I would think that I was going towards the entrance where we came in, but the next time I would see a map, I’d be somewhere completely different. Now, you could see the backs of houses, so it wasn’t like we were lost in the woods. Nevertheless, I was getting frustrated and we were both getting muddier and muddier. What I was really worried about was that Murphy would see a squirrel and try to charge at it and I would fall in the mud. Fortunately, that didn’t happen. After walking in circles, we finally came up to some houses and just exited the woods behind someone’s house into a neighborhood. It took me a moment to figure out where I was. We were nowhere near where we entered the park! I have no idea how we got so lost.

img_0263

Those are my shoes after we got out of the woods. You can imagine what Murphy looked like! We made it home and toweled off. It was a pretty fun adventure actually. I probably didn’t pick the best day for trail walking, considering the rain this morning, but that sort of made it all the more fun.

After our adventure, which took about an hour and a half, I went to the gym. I did 25 minutes on the elliptical and then took a 60 minute pilates class. Can you say exhausted?

Comments are closed.