Cluck U?

That’s actually the name of a chicken wing restaurant in College Park, MD. But what I am referring to is my decision to eat chicken again. (maybe) Sarah posted about this a few weeks ago which was coincidental for me because it was something that had been weighing heavily on my mind.

I stopped eating chicken about 4 or 5 years ago. I think it was, in some way, an attempt to lose weight or at least, get healthier. It was hard at first, but I got used to it. Fortunately, Atlanta is a very vegetarian friendly city. People ask me all the time why I don’t eat chicken or beef. I honestly don’t like the taste of beef or pork but I can’t tell you a good reason why I don’t eat chicken. I mean, a little bit of the reason is because of the inhumane conditions in which the chickens are forced to live. But that’s not really why. I don’t know why. I just stopped one day. Maybe I thought it was cool? In any regards, I think that my lack of eating chicken leads me to eat things that are not so healthy instead. Processed vegetarian chicken patties for one. Too many grains. Bread. Full fat salad dressing (because sometimes salad is the only option.)

I made the decision to eat chicken again a few weeks ago except really, I haven’t. Save for a New Years Eve party when I was a bit drunk. The idea of it is fine to me, the taste of it is good to me, but there is something about actually going ahead and becoming a meat eater (yes, I know fish are meat, but you know what I mean) again that’s sort of worrisome to me and I cannot, for the life of me, figure out why. So I’ve picked at Jason’s chicken dinners here and there, but haven’t been able to order one myself. It’s very strange.

For dinner tonight, I did not have chicken. I was tired and not in the mood to really cook anything so I had Trader Joe’s mixed broccoli and water chestnuts mixed with Bok Choy that was on it’s last legs and shrimp. It was meh. A little too salty.

IMG_0373.JPG
IMG_0376.JPG

As you can see, Murphy wanted some. Speaking of which, I need to go get his uber organic dog food before the only pet store that seems to sell it closes. When do I get to relax?

Comments are closed.