Where did I go?

I didn’t realize that I hadn’t posted in a few days. In my case, no news is good news. It’s just been one of those sort of weeks, the kind that creep by. I’ve stuck to my training plan, however, and I’m happy with myself for doing so. That one 3-mile run was way worse than the other 2 and 3 that I did. I’m not sure why. I still have my long run tomorrow which is 4 miles.

A couple of interesting things have happened over the past few days. At least interesting in Lee-world which is probably not so interesting to everyone else! I ate chicken. A co-worker and friend of mine gave me the following recipe:

Zydeco Soup

4 stalks of celery, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
1 larger bell pepper, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Zero Calorie Spray
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces (1 1/2 lb)
1 tsp. each: paprika, dry mustard, ground cumin, dried basil, dried oregano, dried thyme
1/4 tsp. each: ground cloves and cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. black pepper
3 – 15 oz. cans of black beans, rinsed and drained
1 large can of diced tomatoes
4 cups of fat free chicken broth
1 T. fresh parsley, snipped

In a 4 qt. Dutch over, cook celery, onion, bell pepper, and garlic in hot zero calorie spray over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Stir in chicken then add dry herbs and spices. Cook for about 5 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in Black Beans, tomatoes, chicken broth, and parsley. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for about 30 minutes, adding water or broth if needed.

I made it according to the recipe but without cloves or dry mustard because I didn’t have either. This was the first time that I’d cooked something with chicken in it in a LONG time. It was tasty though. And no, I’m not going to go all gung-ho with the meat eating, but I do think that if I want to eat an occasional piece of chicken, I can. I took some pictures of the soup but they didn’t turn out very well, so use your imagination.

brooks.jpg

I got some new kicks today. After realizing that I’d been running in my New Balances for probably a year, I thought I would do myself a favor and go to the running shoe store and get some new ones. Annoyingly, I now see that they are $15 cheaper on the Brooks website. I wonder how much shipping would be and if I should return the ones that I bought and order them online. Okay, fine, who am I kidding? That would be a big pain in the ass and not even worth the $5 or $10 I might save. After I bought my shoes, I went next door to LA Fitness and did the elliptical for 30 minutes. I know, I know, I buy new running shoes and didn’t run! I just wanted to do my long run outside, not on the treadmill so I figured I’d save it for tomorrow.

2 responses to “Where did I go?

  1. Yay! Love the new shoes! That recipe sounds good, too. I’ve never made a soup!

  2. You should try it. It was super easy to make. I think it makes 6 servings.