The drinking thing

I drank some vodka Thursday night which got me to thinking about kickball. What, you don’t see the vodka – kickball correlation? Let me explain.

I joined an adult kickball team about four years ago. At the time, I felt like I really needed to expand my social life. I was also single, so it seemed like a good way to meet guys. Adult kickball is basically 30-40 minutes of kickball, yes the kind you play in elementary school, and then several hours of socializing..okay drinking…afterwards. When I was 26, this was just my cup of tea. Despite all the running that I do, I am not a particularly athletic person. I’m uncoordinated and not good at sports. So finding a social sport that was non-competitive seemed perfect.

At first it was perfect. I made new friends. I met guys. I went to parties. It was exactly what I needed to spice up my social life.

Fast forward three or four years. I have a boyfriend so there is no need to get myself “out there”. True, I made some friends but in actuality, they were, for the most part, kind of superficial friendships that faltered after a while. But here’s the kicker (pun intended!) and why I am pretty sure I’m not doing anymore kickball. Hangovers.

Like I said, I drank some vodka Thursday night. I paired the vodka with cranberry juice and tried to keep it mostly juice, but I still felt awful yesterday morning. I’ve gotten to the point where I really can’t drink much at all anymore without feeling sick the next day. I used to go out on a kickball night and stay at the bar until almost midnight, all the while drinking beer with my teammates. I have no idea how I did it. Kickball was usually on a Thursday so I guess I managed to suffer through Friday somehow. I don’t know if the hangovers have gotten worse or my priorities have shifted or what,.

In a way, I’m glad that this is happening; glad that my relationship with alcohol is changing. I know I’ve written previously in detail, although not sure if it was in this blog, about concerns that I have regarding alcohol abuse. Specifically concerns that I was/am abusing it. It’s almost like my brain and my body are fighting. My brain wants to get drunk and party still and my body says, “No Ma’am.” I think I’m finally learning that listening to my body instead of my brain is going to make me feel a lot better physically and when I feel good physically, I will feel good mentally.

Argh, Murphy ate my power supply cord to my computer and apparently they are like $80 to replace. Ugh.

2 responses to “The drinking thing

  1. Seriously it feels like I wrote this blog. I know exactly where your coming from!

  2. I guess it just happens when we get older. It’s taken me a good year or so to realize that the fun of getting drunk isn’t worth feeling as bad as I do the next day.