Blah

I just wrote that as my facebook status, Lee is blah. I don’t know why, that’s just how I feel.

So I’m really trying to stick with this 1500 calorie a day diet and I’m noticing that I’m relying a lot more on artificial sweeteners. I think a lot of the time, I just want the taste of something in my mouth (get your head out of the gutter!) and water just won’t do. I used to be pretty addicted to diet coke and broke myself of the habit, but now I feel like I’m crawling back. I have had a 20 oz diet mountain dew, some crystal light and some pepsi max today which is 3 times the amount I normally drink. I was pleased that I had finally weened myself off the diet crack, but I guess I really hadn’t.

It’s just the only way I know to keep myself from not eating. I mean, when I’m at home, I can do other things, read, play on the computer, take a bath. But what about when I’m staring at my computer at work doing some boring, menial task. The cravings hit and they hit hard and the only way to satisfy them without actually eating is to drink something with fake sugars in it.

I lost a lot of weight that way and old habits die hard. I really tried to be healthier and cut all the fake stuff out but it seemed like instead of just doing nothing, I was back to the real sugar and that was affecting my weight loss.

So, what about you? Do you do the fake stuff?

5 responses to “Blah

  1. I don’t really have GI issues with artificial sweeteners. I’m trying to just be better in general, though. I find a piece of hard candy, with real sugar is satisfying for a sweet craving. I eat a lot of fruit, too. I’ve really upped my water intake – that seems to be helping with the overall ‘cravings’ though.

  2. DITCH the artificial stuff! It just makes your cravings worse! diet coke is just as bad for you as regular coke despite the 0 calories. seriously. just take it one step at a time.

    Usually the cravings are actually just your body wanting water. So try try to ignore the “cravings” and CHUG YOUR WATER! Drink as much as water as you can. Tea also helps too.

    if I really want something sweet, I will have 1 square of frozen vegan chocolate..its only 50 cals and I can usually fit that into my calorie totals – especially on running days 🙂 I find that frozen vegan dark chocolate satisfies my sweet craving exceptionally well.

    another thing is fruit and even dried fruit (as long as it doesnt have any artificial cravings)

    hope this helps!!

  3. I do drink a lot of water. I can try the fruit thing. That is a good idea.

  4. I’m personally a fan of one or less diet pepsis or diet mountains a day (at work). I do drink lots of water too but I also chew gum. It helps me feel like a treat! And i’ll break up one snack into two and lunch into two so i’m kind of eating all day like every hour. That helps me too. 🙂

  5. Sorry this is late (I’m SO behind on my blog reading!), but you could try adding a little lemon juice to your water if you enjoy lemon water… or I recently tried adding a few cucumber slices and I really liked that. It gave the water a light, fresh, cucumber taste. I thought about adding some sliced strawberry to see if that would work the same, but I haven’t yet…