Argh, argh, argh

I know I sound like a broken record, but I’m just so frustrated. I eat roughly 1400-1800 calories a day, work out a ton and cannot lose weight for the life of me. I don’t know what to do. Cutting down my daily calories even more just doesn’t work. I end up starving and binging. It happened tonight. After eating maybe 650 calories at work (both breakfast and lunch) during the day, I was starving when I got home and made some ice cream/peanut butter/pudding creation that was not necessary! I mean, I could of had one of the three and that would have been fine, but do I really need to mix ice cream, pb and pudding? I think not. After that, we went to have sushi for dinner. I didn’t count how many pieces I had, but it was a lot.

I’m just frustrated. I don’t know how to fix this. Jason always tells me that I don’t need to lose weight and that’s why I have so much trouble with it but really, I do. I mean, I’m still technically in the “normal” category in regards to BMI but I’m at the very high end of the spectrum. I’d feel much happier in my own skin in the middle.

I just don’t know what to do. I’ve cut down my drinking a lot, I’ve amped up my running to around 15 miles a week (from like 5), I’ve been trying to cook more and measure things and nothing works! The only time in my life that I have been successful with weight loss was when I cut out most carbs. I don’t want to have to do that again because it lead to some disordered behavior, but I don’t know how else to go about this.

Suggestions please!!!

10 responses to “Argh, argh, argh

  1. i am definitely no expert here, but here are some thoughts . . .

    – eat more during the day! of COURSE 650 calories all day is going to make you want to binge. i tend to follow (VERY rough estimate here)–

    – ~ 400ish calories for breakfast
    – ~ 100-200 cal snack
    – ~ 400ish calories for lunch
    – ~ 200 cal snack
    – ~ 400-500 cal dinner
    – some kind of treat (either something small like a square of chocolate or a couple of nights/week something more substantial like tcby)

    i also run ~30 miles/week, but i’m also only 5’1″. so you might be surprised that you need more than you think, and eating enough is SO much more pleasant than not eating enough. you will have so much more energy throughout the day, and you won’t want to binge.

    other suggestions i have:

    – maybe up workouts? it doesn’t have to be running, but maybe commit to 5 solid (45 minute) workouts/week.
    – see a nutritionist! that might help you get motivated and give you some more ideas. maybe sign up for a block of sessions to get yourself jump-started?
    – cut out alcohol for a month (or commit to no more than 1 drink on 1-2 days/week) and see if that helps.

    all that said, i love that jason supports you and doesn’t think you need to lose weight — maybe just embracing what you have IS the answer. i bet you look fantastic.

  2. ps: i don’t count calories, and i don’t advocate doing it — i think it can actually detract from listening to the body’s valuable signals. those numbers are just completely rough estimates šŸ™‚

  3. Thanks Sarah! I have definitely thought about going to a nutritionist. I feel like there is probably just one little thing, and I can’t figure it out, that is stopping me from losing weight.

    I think I could increase my weight lifting routine. By increase, I mean length and how hard I push myself. I think that when I lost weight in the first place, I did a lot of strength training. It’s just hard to find time when I’m training for a half. Excuses, I know!

  4. I can’t remember – are you training for an endurance event? if not, I would limit your running to 1 x weekly, and add in 2 days of HIIT

    Google HIIT – basically its sprint intervals at a high intensity at a specific work:active rest ratio

    for instance:

    20:40 would be 20 seconds of all out sprinting with 40 seconds of active recovery (walk/jog)

    start out with 5 min warm up and 5 min cooldown. try 20:40 x 8 first and then up 1 sprint each week for a month, then switch it up. the possibilities are endless and you’re only at the gym for like 30 mins on HIIT days!!!

    20:40
    30:60
    60:90
    60:60
    10:20
    20:10
    8:12 – EFFING HARD

    you should feel like puking at the end!

    i run at a 5.0mph pace for my endurance training

    when I do HIIT,

    my “work”periods are at 9+mph with “rest” periods at 3-5 mph

    hope this helps!!!! HIIT is better for fat loss than “stead state” cardio which is what regular running is

  5. I totally agree with Sarah’s comment. If you are binging at night you most likely aren’t eating enough during the day. I roughly follow the calorie ranges she posted as well. And I agree with her comment you need to make sure you are eating ENOUGH compared to your burn. If you aren’t getting enough fuel your body will go into “starvation mode” and hold on to every calorie you give it.

    As for exercise – do you do high intensity interval workouts? Those are great for upping post-workout burn and burn a lot of calories anyway. I love doing my sprint or hill intervals once or twice a week. And add in more strength training for sure! Muscle burns calories when you’re at rest, so having more lean body mass will help you burn more calories overall.

    If you want some workout suggestions or just want to toss around ideas feel free to email me! šŸ™‚

  6. also, i think ppl could help you with what you’re eating if you commit to taking pictures of everything you put into your mouth and bloggin abt it.

    start tracking your calories in nutridiary.com you can input your activity and how many cals deficit you want daily and your activy cals and it will calculate how many cals you should be consuming to hit your goals at your particular weight.

    if I wasn’t training for a 10miler, I would be doing 2-3 HIIT workouts daily because it is the BEST for fat loss.

  7. Yay, lots of comments!

    Sarah W. – I am training for a half marathon which is at the end of March.

    I think that everyone is right in terms of both not eating enough during the day and not pushing myself enough in my workouts. I know that I am guilty of the second one for sure. I do lift weights and stuff but I know that I could be lifting heavier and, while I feel like I run a lot, I don’t think I really challenge myself enough.

    Do you guys come up with a weekly workout plan(provided you aren’t training for an event) or just sort of play it by ear at the gym?

  8. I kind of do a mix of planning and playing it by ear. For example, I know I do some sort of cardio every morning, but what I do kind of depends on how I feel when I wake up. Usually it’s running, but sometimes I’ll change my mind and just do a dvd or elliptical. And I know I like to do my interval runs on either Tuesday or Wednesday mornings, my turbo/bootcamp Monday nights… My long runs are typically Saturday, and Sunday is a full “play it by ear” type of day. As for strength training, I try to always do it on Tuesdays and Thursdays and sometimes Friday or Sunday. I usually go in with a general idea of what I want to do so I don’t just end up wandering around the gym aimlessly.

    So I kind of have an “outline”, but I don’t have it set in stone by any means…

  9. Is this your first half marathon/race ever? If so, I would stick to the training/strength/yoga/pilates. HIIT has no place in a first timers endurance race.

    That being said, I do keep to a schedule. If I don’t then I will “fall off the wagon” sooo fast. I like to have a plan of action – I’m organized like that.

    I’m training for the 10miler at the beginning of April – here is my training plan:

    Monday – 3-4mi run/fullbody weight training
    Tues – cross training cardio (low impact – bike or elliptical) & abs
    Wed – run (half the miles of my long run on Sat)
    Thurs – 2-4mi run/fullbody weight training
    Fri – COMPLETE OFF DAY
    Sat – long run
    Sat – play by ear/recovery low impact cardio

    I am trying to lose weight, but my goal is to eat healthy, track my food and run my first race. The weight will come off, it will just be slower. I find that I don’t lose unless I track my calorie intake. Its what works for me.

    Once my race is over, and I assume I will still have some weight/fat to lose, my plan is 2-3 HIIT sessions & 3 fullbody weight lifting days plus 2 short runs & have 1 long run on Sat or Sun. I want to keep up my mileage to aim for 10miles on the weekend to keep my body/endurance up. I think it will be a nice healthy habit to have šŸ™‚

    HIIT cannot be on consecutive days! and if you’re going to lift weights, its better to do it on the same day as HIIT, BEFORE yo udo the HIIT since HIIT is so taxing on your legs

    I too, am struggling with whether I’m eating enough or too little or what?? I’ve lost 5lbs in 2 weeks which is pretty damn impressive. I know the loss will slow down, but hoping for 4lbs monthly as a goal.

    lets keep tabs on each others blogs!!

  10. These are very helpful suggestions, thanks everyone.