Picture Time

The IT guy at my job alerted me to the coolest website ever, Dropbox. I have two computers at work and for me to get a file from one to the other, I either need to email it to myself if it’s small enough, or put it on the FTP site. Now, I can just use the dropbox. But what’s even cooler is how awesome it is for blogging. Sometimes I take pictures at work that I want to put on my blog. I have to either email them to myself or remember to bring my flash drive. Now, I can just put them in my dropbox folder and when I get home, there they are. How convenient!

In my last post, Sarah suggested that if I take a picture of everything I eat, it might help me (or some health-minded readers) figure out why it is that I’m not losing weight. So, here goes. I’d say today is slightly healthier than normal.

Breakfast was a Voskos honey vanilla nonfat greek yogurt (pretty good although not that thick) mixed with 1 serving Kashi Honey Sunshine (on sale at Publix!), 1/2 serving Fiber One, 1/2 serving mini chocolate chips and 1/2 cup bluberries.
000_0002

Lunch was turkey with spinach, tomato, 2 tbsp hummus and mustard on an Arnold Sandwich Thin. I also had a bag of soy crisps and celery with laughing cow cheese. Forgive the awful picture!
000_3

At around 3, I had an orange with peanut butter. The orange sort of sucked but I liked the pb combination. I think I like pb pretty much combined with anything. I got really hungry about an hour after that so I had a Kashi bar.
000_12000_14

For dinner, I had Tempeh Chili that I prepared last night with a side of corn. It is from the Whole Foods website. It was okay, the tempeh didn’t really taste that different than Boca crumbles. I like my normal chili better. This one had tomato paste instead of diced tomatoes and I didn’t like that as much. I topped it with 1 serving fat free cheddar.
2009-02-09

Serves 6
Tempeh is full of protein and flavor and makes for a great addition to juicy bell peppers, tender kidney beans and tangy tomato sauce in this hearty chili. Serve with a few tortilla chips on the side.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 (8-ounce) package tempeh, crumbled
1 green bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped
1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped
2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic
Salt and white pepper to taste
3 cups cooked kidney beans, drained
2 (15-ounce) cans tomato sauce
2 to 3 tablespoons chili powder
1 bay leaf
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Crushed red pepper flakes to taste

Method
Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add tempeh, peppers, garlic, and salt and cook, stirring often, for 5 to 10 minutes. Add beans, tomato sauce, 1 cup water, chili powder, bay leaf, cumin and red pepper flakes, stir well and simmer over low heat, covered, for 1/2 hour.

Remove and discard bay leaf and season with salt and pepper. Ladle chili into bowls and serve.

Nutrition
Per serving (about 12oz/339g-wt.): 290 calories (90 from fat), 10g total fat, 1.5g saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 980mg sodium, 38g total carbohydrate (10g dietary fiber, 8g sugar), 18g protein

And for dessert, half a serving of Honey Sunshine with half a serving of mini chocolate chips.
2009-02-09_1

I somehow made it home 15 minutes early tonight and decided to take advantage of the nice weather and take Murphy on a run. He’s pretty good at running. We did about 2 miles. I’d say we ran 1.25 of it if not more. It’s hard to tell because sometimes he will stop and sniff things. It’s a little difficult when he decides to abruptly stop! I think I only almost tripped over him once this time. It got a little too dark by the time we were done. I live in a pretty safe area with tons of people out walking/running but I still don’t feel safe when it’s dark out. I mean, I know that my Golden Retriever looks ferocious and all! Lol.

ETA – I ate more chocolate chips. I def. have a nighttime snacky issue.

Comments are closed.