Rest Days

I’m following the Hal Higdon Half Marathon guide for Novices (not sure why exactly I’m following the novice plan AGAIN ) which basically has you doing some sort of workout 6 days a week. And that is pretty hard for me. I am a 5-day a week worker outer. Nothing more, nothing less. If I do less, I start to feel sluggish and blobby but when I try to do 6, I feel overwhelmed and tired. 5 seems to be the magic number for me. The problem is that I feel like since I’m skipping something each week, although it’s not usually a run, I won’t be ready for the race. It’s not that exactly, though, it’s more like I feel like I’ve failed. I know that working out 5 days a week is fine, hell it’s better than fine, but there is always this persistent nagging thought that I should be doing 6.

How many days a week do you typically work out? I know at least a few people read this! Comment, please. I’ll comment on your blog back, pinky swear!

6 responses to “Rest Days

  1. I do something everyday. 30 minutes of movement, minimum. I step up my ‘intensity’ 5-6 days a week.

    Currently, my week looks like this:
    Monday – 5AM HR Training (Z2); 8PM Karate
    Tuesday – 5AM HR Training (Z3); Yoga
    Wednesday – 5AM HR Training (Z2); 8PM Karate
    Thursday – 5 AM HR Training (Z2); Yoga or Spin
    Friday – 5 AM HR Training (Z3); Weights
    Saturday – AM HR Training (Z2); Karate
    Sunday – Extended AM HR Training (Z2/Z3); Weights

    I haven’t taken a day 100% off since last year. Even if it’s a 30 minute walk. My goal is 300 days of a minimum of 30 minutes per day this year. Of course, I’m not currently training for anything other than a getting my 5K time to sub-30 at a comfortable pace.

  2. ugh I’ve falling off the wagon so I’m having a hard time getting in the groove.

    I would LIKE to work out 6 days a week with Friday before my long run as a complete rest day, but lately I’ve been having 3 rest days and its quite pathetic actually. I think 5 days is good. 6 days is great.

    and you should always always have ONE full complete day of rest 🙂

  3. 5-6. sometimes 4, if i’m super busy. usually 5 is the sweet spot though!

  4. Since you pinky swore…. hehe j/k

    I would LOVE to do 5, but end up at 4 a lot and last week randomly ended up at 3 (but did double one day to make up for it. So i’ll say I do 4-5 days a week but would love to do a solid 5 – that seems ideal!! And I think 5 is GREAT!

  5. by the way – you’ve been tagged! I left something for you on my blog!

  6. Good luck with Hal! I loosely followed his plan on my first half and enjoyed it. I usually manage 5 days/week. If I have two off days I like to try to do something, even if it’s just a 5 minute walk around the apartment complex!