Mardi Gras = Too Much Alcohol

I went to this Mardi Gras party yesterday. It was basically in the parking lot of Front Page News. It started at two and we got there at about 3:30. At first it kind of sucked. There weren’t that many people and it was colder out than I’d previously thought. After a while, the beer started flowing and several friends showed up and it was pretty fun. We walked over to El Myr afterwards for dinner. I had the green burrito. I didn’t eat the whole thing. I also had a glass of sangria. he original plan was to meet some other friends at The Glenwood But by this point, I was completely exhausted and wanted to go home. I didn’t drive though, so I was sort of at the mercy of the group, which included one of my friends who was pretty drunk and, even though she was tired and said she wanted to leave, kept getting sidetracked by different things. We finally left around 10ish. The Glenwood plan was scraped and we just went home. I woke up at like 3 am completely thirsty and with the realization that I cannot do the all-day drinking events anymore. It’s fun while it lasts but not fun to my body at all. I don’t know how many beers I had – 5 at least and the sangria. I really don’t drink like that hardly ever anymore so I know that I shouldn’t feel guilty about it, but for some reason, I sort of do.

2 responses to “Mardi Gras = Too Much Alcohol

  1. Don’t feel guilty! Like you said, you hardly ever do this. It isn’t something you’re out doing all the time, kind of like a food splurge. Living a healthy lifestyle is all about balance. Most days we are really well balanced and behaved, some days we get a little relaxed and splurge on food and/or drink. No biggie! I’m sure your next meal/day is/was right back to normal. We’ve all gotta let loose and have fun once in awhile, right? 🙂

  2. I don’t know if hardly ever was quite accurate. But it’s definitely way less than I used to do. And yeah, today was a much more normal day. I had fun yesterday at least and I was home and in bed by 10pm.