Racing with friends

I’m not exactly sure how many races I’ve run; somewhere between ten and fifteen, I’d venture to say. In that entire time, which is around 3.5 – 4 years, I haven’t trained for a race with anyone. That’s not to say that I haven’t run a race with people. In fact, I ran my very first half marathon with my father but he trained in MD and I trained in GA.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I’m training for this race with one of my friends. We’ve been doing our long runs together. It’s nice to have a friend to run with. I haven’t been too concerned about my pace on our runs but there is always this little voice in my head that is telling me that I’m not pushing it hard enough. This is her first half marathon; she just wants to finish. I, on the other hand, have all of these times in my head that I feel the need to beat. Is there a such thing as a PW? Because last year, when I ran the ING, I PW’d by like 15 minutes. I’m not sure how exactly I went 15 minutes slower, but somehow I did. So I’d like to get back to around my normal time which is like 10:30-10:45 minute mile for a half marathon.

What I’m getting at here is that my goals and my friend’s goals for this race are different. I’m not exactly sure what to do. If she wants to stop and walk and I don’t, do I stop with her for support or do I keep going and leave her behind? I really wanted to run this 10K last weekend in sub-10 minute miles. But at the same time, I wanted to support my friend because it was her first 10K and she probably wouldn’t have done it if I hadn’t done it with her.

2 responses to “Racing with friends

  1. i trained for my first half marathon with a friend and we both agreed that if one of us felt like going faster, that was okay. In a way its helpful to the runner that is lagging because they have someone to follow. I usually was the one that was running faster than her (I have been running longer than she has) and she was very okay with me going ahead of her. I assume your friend would cheer you on as well, so it might just be a simple conversation to have with her!! Good luck!!

  2. I trained for my first half with someone who had been running much longer then I had. When it came to race day she just took off and raced it (which was fine with me! I’d rather she go on ahead and do the dang thing!) We always did our long runs together and she was still much faster then me on race day. I would just tell your friend that you might get competitive with yourself come race day and want to try and beat your time. I’m sure she’ll understand!