Fitting it all in

I’m really struggling trying to fit in all of the training workouts for my half marathon. I don’t know why; I’ve followed this exact plan before and don’t remember struggling as much, although maybe I’ve just forgotten.

So this week is supposed to be:
1. strength
2. 5 miles
3. 3 miles or cross
4. 5 miles + weights
5. rest
6. 50 min cross
7. 8 miles

My problem is this: I ran my 7 miler from last weekend yesterday. So if I did the training plan like I’m supposed to, that would be 28 miles which is quite a difference from the 21 that I’m supposed to be doing. Do I skip one of the 5 milers? Do cross training instead of the three? It’s just very hard to fit this all in. I have an easier time running Monday-Wednesday. Thursdays we have doggie training and Fridays are the day before my long run so I feel like I should rest, although maybe it doesn’t matter.

I’m supposed to have dinner tomorrow night with an old co-worker that I haven’t seen in a few months. Dinner is at 6ish, so I guess I could do the 5 miles afterwards. I can squeeze in 3 miles either Thursday or Friday but what about the other 5? 7 yesterday was tough. Probably because I have some sort of head cold, but I just don’t know if I can run another 5 miles today.

The race is in 24 days. I hate this down to the wire crap. It’s like either life gets in the way of running or running gets in the way of life. I know that a logical answer to all of this would be to run in the morning. I have no obligations at 6am, there is no reason why I can’t except that I just can’t. Okay, fine, I can but I hate it. Plus I have this super hyper dog in the mornings who will freak out if I leave the house without taking him with me.

I hear myself and know that if someone else told me the same thing, I’d tell them to stop making excuses.

Recently, I saw that Sarah made the Whole Grain Penne Pasta with Broccoli and Kale that was featured in Shape Magazine. I remembered that I had that recipe saved to my computer, so I decided to make that for dinner with a colorful salad.

2009-03-03

2009-03-03_1

Ingredients
6 green tea bags
2 ½ cups dry multigrain or whole-wheat penne
2 cups small broccoli florets
2 cups small inner flowering kale leaves (or coarsely chopped regular kale)
1 14 ½-ounce can fire-roasted, diced tomatoes, undrained, preferably organic
¾ cup part-skim ricotta
4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
¼ cup julienned fresh basil leaves
2 tablespoons grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
½ teaspoon sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions
• Bring 6 cups water to a boil in a large saucepan. Add tea bags; turn off heat and let steep for 5 minutes. Discard tea bags. Bring tea to a boil, add pasta, and cook according to package directions, adding broccoli and kale during the last 3 minutes of cooking.

• Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine tomatoes, ricotta, oil, vinegar, and garlic; mix well. Drain pasta and cooked vegetables; add to bowl and toss well. Transfer to four plates and top with basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

The only changes that I made to the recipe were that I used green tea with lemon because that was all I had and I omitted the basil. It was sort of weird because the sauce is cold and the pasta is warm so the dish is just sort of lukewarm when you mix it together. I wonder how this would taste cold. I liked it fine but I don’t think I would make it again. It just didn’t wow me.

6 responses to “Fitting it all in

  1. 😦 I’m sorry you’re having a hard time balancing it all. I think it’s hard to get it all in, too – and you’ve got a lot of miles to squeeze in! Good luck – you’re not making excuses, you’re doing great! Yum recipe too – thanks!

  2. Ahh! I totally know what you mean about the stress of training for a half marathon. I did my first at the same time I was trying to graduate from college and I had no time to run! I say make it work for you, but focus on getting that one long run in a week. That is the run that will push you and the others will support that. You’ll do it!

  3. your pasta came out prettier than mine did! thats why I used shape’s photo!

    Its okay to drop off a run – I wasss running 4x weekly when I FIRST started running and training, but once I hit 8-10 miles I realized, hey, I got this in the bag, and totally ditched my 4th run and am now doing HIIT 2-3 x weekly which takes less time, burns more cals/fat, and helps my endurance 🙂 I dont really do any cross training either….. here’s what I do, maybe this will help? I agree, make sure to get your long run in! if you can’t do it on Sat or Sun, pick a day during the week where you know you can do it and keep it consistent. most normal ppl have more time on weekends to do their long run which is why most “training” plans place it there, but you gotta do whats best for you.

    I do HIIT instead of direct weight training for my legs. I will go back to direct weight training for my lower body AFTER my race. For now, the HIIT is doing the job b/c my quads are so musclar!

    I’ve also been slacking on the ab work – but I still have a lot of fat to lose on my tummy so I think I’m okay in slacking for now 🙂

    Sun: shoulders/bi/tri & HIIT or SFP

    Mon: back/chest/abs & running 4-5 miles (I did 7 this week – gotta take what I can get!)

    Tues: shoulders/bi/tri & Stubborn Fat Protocol(SFP) (see my blog for more info – posted HIIT post a few weekends ago

    Wed: half the distance of my upcoming long run

    Thurs: back/chest/abs & HIIT or SFP

    Fri: off

  4. I’d skip the 5 miler and cross train instead. Missing 1 run shouldn’t hurt your training.

  5. I think I just got off since i did the long run on Monday instead of over the weekend. I figured it out though and the answer is this: morning workout. Even though I hate getting up earlier, right now it seems like a good way to fit it in and not screw up my social life too much!

    I am going to skip on of the 5 mile runs though. I think I will be fine. Thanks for everyone’s encouragement!

  6. Oops, I probably shouldn’t write “I think I just got off” I mean off the training plan. LOL.