Morning Workouts & Measurements

I meant to post this yesterday but got really tired and lazy. I got up at 5:45 am yesterday morning and went to the gym and ran for 5 miles! I am extremely proud of myself every time that I do a morning workout. It’s just so tempting to reset the alarm and fall back asleep. I think the key was that I went to bed on Tuesday night around 10ish. That’s almost 8 hours so it wasn’t too hard to wake up. It’s just really nice to go to work and know that I am already done with my workout. I think that the reason that I don’t do this more is that I have a hard time going to bed early. My normal bedtime is probably closer to midnight. It’s doubly hard because a lot times Jason doesn’t get home from work until close to 11pm and I usually will stay up so I can see him.

I decided to skip one of the 5 mile runs this week. I am going to do the 30-day Shred tonight (I also did it on Tuesday), 3 miles tomorrow, 8 on Saturday and Pilates on Sunday. So, that’s 6 workouts this week which I was having trouble with before.

Last night I went to Eclipse di Luna with some co-workers to meet up with an ex-co-worker who quit a few months ago. She and I were pretty good friends so it was nice to see her and her husband, who I also know. Eclipse di Luna is a tapas restaurant and truthfully, I hate tapas! I mean, I think that the food in most tapas restaurants tastes good but it ends up being such a pain because you can’t really figure out who ordered what and when you’re with a bunch of people, it’s very hard to split up the checks. Plus, I am always starving afterwards. I had some hummus, tuna, calamari, vegetables and mussels but a very tiny portion of each. When I got home, I ate a bowl of cereal and some popcorn. Not exactly a balanced meal, but I’m okay with that.

I probably shouldn’t have gone out because now my throat is hurting again. Hopefully the can of soup that I have for lunch will cure what ails me.

I am participating in Caitlin’s 30-day Shred Challenge. I bought the DVD about two weeks ago so it worked out perfectly that she started this challenge. I have done the challenge three times so far. I don’t know if I am going to do it everyday because I am starting to do a lot of running as my races nears. Here are my starting measurements. I’m assuming that they haven’t changed from the 3 times I’ve done the video.

Waist – 29
Hips – 39
Low waist (an inch or so under belly button) – 37
Arm (largest part) – 12
Thigh (largest part) – 24

These are all with the tape measure pretty loosely draped across. I never know how tight to pull it! Hopefully these will be smaller when I finish this thing.

6 responses to “Morning Workouts & Measurements

  1. hey! james HATES it when i clip his nails – he freaks out! and maggie is too dumb to care. 🙂

    yay for the shred!!!

  2. I love the 30 Day shred. I lost 2-3 inches on my waist, hips, and mid section within 3 weeks. I also got great defintion in my arms. Muscles I never saw before! lol

  3. That’s great, Melissa. Did you do it everyday? Were you training for an event while you did this? I’m training for a half marathon and unsure if I should do the Shred everyday during my training.

  4. You should see great results with 30DS. I’m trying to do it for 30 days consecutively… so far so good. tomorrow is day 21, starting level 3 for 10 days. I will measure myself (and post results) when I finish, but I’ve really toned up in my arms and see some ab definition.

  5. Your measurements look good, no?

    Good job on your morning workout! I always feel really good when I squeeze an am sweat in, too!

  6. The 30 Day shred was all I was doing. And I did it roughly 4-5 days a week. I made it to level 2. Than I feel off the wagon for two weeks. I just started back this week and was able to still complete the Level 2. I thought I would be back at level 1! lol

    Id be interested to hear how people incorporate this into their schedule while training for a half, since Ill be starting to run more consistently myself. I would think it would be okay to do it as you would any strength training workouts. 2-3 times a week?