Sunday evening post

I actually ended up staying awake much longer than I thought I would. My friend Mark had a bbq. Really it was more of a seafood boil. He did bbq some steaks, but there was also crab legs, clams, corn and potatoes. I think I ate pretty decently. I did have some Oreo Bark but not really that much. He has a beer tap in his house, and the beer he currently had was Blue Moon so I did have a few of those. We played some Rock Band. I really like being the singer which I would never expect. I have a horrible singing voice and am normally shy. We left at about midnight and I fell asleep shortly after we got home.

When I woke up this morning, I was immediately glad that I had done my long run yesterday. The weather was nice again and it would have been fine, but I just like having Sundays as a free day with nothing really looming overhead. Jason and I went to Lettuce Souprise You for lunch. Yes, the name is stupid and yes, it primarily caters to the after church and above 65 crowds but it’s a really good salad bar. We go there quite a bit actually.

2009-03-08_1

You can’t really see that soup in the bowl behind the salad but it is one of my favorite soups ever. It’s called Hearty Vegetable and for some reason, it just tastes a million times better than any other vegetable soup that I’ve had. I keep saying that I want to ask them for the recipe so I can make it at home.

I went to a Pilates class this afternoon. It was hard. There are some things that are pretty easy for me, the rollups and other crunch type things. But what kills me are the glute exercises. He had us doing a bunch of bridges and would have us lift one leg up which I found extremely difficult. I know that I have some muscle imbalances, particularly my hamstrings and glutes being nowhere as strong as my quads. I would like to work more on strengthening my glute muscles.

After class, I decided I wanted to bake some tofu that I had in the fridge. I had marinated it earlier and popped it in the oven at 450 for 20 minutes on each side. I’m getting better with my tofu technique but it’s still not perfected. It had that crispy outside and chewy inside that I was looking for, but not really much flavor. I think I need more marinade. I didn’t really know what to do with the tofu and was craving a tortilla pizza, so I just put some pieces of it on top and figured that I’d use the rest for another meal.

2009-03-08

One response to “Sunday evening post

  1. i think we’re lookin at a shattered arm and shoulder, but i don’t know if its more or less serious than that.