Hardcore!

I just ran 5 miles and did the Shred. Woo hoo! I feel very hardcore right now. Now if I can just keep this up 🙂

I took advantage of the nice weather and daylight savings time and went for a run after work. I did an out and back 5 miles. I pretty much always go down the same road in all of my runs because it’s the prettiest and most conducive to running. The first mile is all uphill though. It’s tough but I figure since my legs always feel heavy during the first couple of miles anyway, it doesn’t really matter if I’m going uphill or not. Plus, since I did an out and back, the last mile was downhill. My hips felt kind of tight; it was probably from Pilates last night which focused a lot on glutes and legs. I felt okay after about 2.5 miles into it and although I wasn’t using my Garmin, I am pretty sure that I had a significant negative split. I came home and did the Shred. I used soup cans instead of 5-lb weights though because I just felt pretty tired.

Onto food.

I have two products to review. First, I won two bottles of Country Bob’s All Purpose Sauce from a giveway on Jackson’s World a couple weeks ago. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this sauce. I am not a barbeque fan at all. I do not like the sweet/savory combination. That said, this sauce was okay. It had a nice kick to it but was a little sweet for my liking. I’m sure that if you liked bbq sauce, you’d like this. Maybe I’d like the spicy variety better. Not sure. I’ll finish the bottles but I don’t think it’s my cup of tea..err sauce. Also, I was a little weirded out by the claim of “Christ is our CEO” on the bottle.

Secondly, I was intrigued by PB2. For those that haven’t heard of it, it’s peanut powder that has 85% less calories than regular PB. You can either mix it with water (a 2:1 ratio) and it turns into a spread or put it in things for peanutty flavor.

I really wanted to like this stuff. There was just something off about it. It didn’t taste bad, per se, just not right. There’s nothing weird in the ingredients; it’s all natural. They don’t sell it individually though, so I had to buy 4 jars. I bought two original flavors and two chocolate. I had to try them both, but now I have two unopened jars in my cabinet. Does anyone out there want to do some sort of trade? A lot of people dig this stuff, I’m just not one of them.

5 responses to “Hardcore!

  1. WOW – great workout! I hope I feel better tomorrow so I can take advantage of our new time and temperature – wasn’t it beautiful this weekend?! Eek – sorry you for 0 for 2 on products!

  2. very hard-core 🙂 !

    i keep waiting for my shred to arrive — it’s taking forever!!

  3. One time I did Level 1 followed by Level 2 on the shred and felt pretty hardcore. But also felt like my heart was going to explode out of my chest to. Maybe that was the drinking from the night before…. :p I was punishing myself. I felt great afterwards though 🙂 Sorry to steal your comments, all about melissa perhaps? LOL

    Great workout!

  4. I THOUGHT about doing Shred yesterday after my 5 miler outside, but I decided against it. Its the thought that counts right?!?!

    You are VERY hardcore – I think I need to catch up to you and try to do both my run & shred tomorrow night :-p motivate me baby 🙂

  5. The Shred + 5 miles was very hard for me. I was going to do it tonight, but a friend invited me over for dinner and dinner>the Shred. I did do the 5 miles though. 🙂