I wanted to make Cheese and Spinach Stuffed Portobellos for dinner but when I got to the crappy Kroger near my house, they didn’t have large portobello mushrooms. I had to make do with smaller ones, so I made little appetizers. They were really easy to make and very good.

2009-03-16

Cheese-&-Spinach-Stuffed Portobellos
From EatingWell Magazine March/April 2009

4 large portobello mushroom caps
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, divided
1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1 cup finely chopped fresh spinach
1/2 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
2 tablespoons finely chopped kalamata olives
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
3/4 cup prepared marinara sauce

1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray.

2. Place mushroom caps, gill-side up, on the prepared pan. Sprinkle with salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Roast until tender, 20 to 25 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, mash ricotta, spinach, 1/4 cup Parmesan, olives, Italian seasoning and the remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper in a medium bowl. Place marinara sauce in a small bowl, cover and microwave on High until hot, 30 seconds to 1 1/2 minutes.

4. When the mushrooms are tender, carefully pour out any liquid accumulated in the caps. Return the caps to the pan gill-side up. Spread 1 tablespoon marinara into each cap; cover the remaining sauce to keep warm. Mound a generous 1/3 cup ricotta filling into each cap and sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan. Bake until hot, about 10 minutes. Serve with the remaining marinara sauce.

I just wasn’t feeling like running tonight at all. Jason wanted to go to the gym though, so I brought my new Women’s Health and got on the Elliptical for 45 minutes. After we got home, I decided that I really hadn’t gotten my heart rate up enough so I did Level 2 of the Shred. This was the first time that I’d done Level 2 and it was definitely harder than Level 1. I was sweating up a storm by the end. I hope I see results even though I haven’t been doing the workout every day.

4 responses to “

  1. Wow – those look AMAZING! The kroger by me never has butternut squash. 😦 Okay, I may have to give this shred a whirl; i’ve heard the best things about it!

  2. Try them. They were really easy to make.

    My Kroger sucks. There is another one a couple miles away, but the sucky one is literally next door to my house so I go there often.

  3. YUM!!! I love spinach in anything and portabella mushrooms are so wonderful. Thanks for posting…I will have to try this soon 🙂

  4. those look yummy! glad u had a good trip to DC – your mom looks familiar but I can’t place her face! boo