DC Trip

I did the 9 miles. It was fine. I ran the entire way on a completely flat trail so that was a nice change of pace from hilly Atlanta. I listened to a “This American Life” podcast for the first half and then switched to music for the second. I forgot to factor in the distance getting to the trail, so I think it was actually more like 9.5 miles.

After my run, we went into DC to the Newseum. Afterwards, we met my friends at Mie N Yu for dinner. I had something blue:
2009-03-13

For dinner, Jason and I shared the rockfish. We both felt that this restaurant was too expensive. The ambiance was nice but the food just wasn’t as good as it could have been for the price. After dinner, we went to another bar in Georgetown but I was literally falling asleep at the table so we didn’t stay for that long.

The next day, we had lunch in Bethesda at a little bakery/cafe place that I have forgotten the name. I had a black bean hummus tartine (which I found out meant open faced sandwich). It was good and would be super easy to make at home.

2009-03-14

For dinner, my mom took us to Bistrot Du Coin in Dupont Circle. She had mentioned that that was the place to go for mussels so I really wanted to try it because I love mussels. My eyes were a little bigger than my stomach and I ordered the larger size pot of mussels which I couldn’t even finish half of. I also ate a few fries.

2009-03-14_1

2009-03-14_2

Morrissey (the concert that was cancelled last weekend in Atlanta) was playing in DC that night. He’s one of Jason’s favorites so we went. It was a good show and we had like second row seats! I really enjoyed the opening band, Red Cortez. After the show, I tried to meet up with some of my cousins but it didn’t happen. Jason and I went to the Brickskeller for a drink. It is one of those places that claims to have a ton of different beers. I say claim because I asked for at least three that they were out of before I got one that they had.

2009-03-14_3

The next morning, we had some cousins over for brunch. My mom got bagels and lox (which I hate) and fruit and I made a frittata.

2009-03-14_4

The Frittata was good but we agreed that it was definitely more of a quiche.

2009-03-14_6

Spinach and Mushroom Frittata

1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed thoroughly to remove liquid
4 eggs or equivalent egg substitute
1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
3/4 cup chopped portobello mushrooms
1/2 cup finely chopped scallions with some green tops
1/4 teaspoon dried Italian seasonings
1 pinch Salt and pepper, to taste

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large bowl, whisk together all ingredients until well mixed. Spray a 9-inch pie plate with cooking spray and fill with the spinach mixture.
Bake for 30 minutes, or until browned and set. Let cool for 20 minutes, cut in wedges and serve.

2 responses to “DC Trip

  1. I can’t wait to go running in DC (we’re going for vacation in a couple of weeks)! So much to see! I’m holding on to that frittata recipe… mmmmm

  2. I went on the Captial Crescent trail which goes from suburban MD into DC. I recommend it.