Double Digits

I did my final long run today before my race next weekend. Joan and I went to the Silver Comet Trail and ran there. It’s about a half hour drive from my house. I used to go there all the time, but haven’t been a while. There were tons of people out since the weather was perfect. It was about 65 degrees and sunny.

We parked at Mile 0 and headed out. The first 3-4 miles weren’t that great. My legs felt heavy and my hips felt sore. Around mile 4, I ate some Sport Beans that I’d picked up at Target and immediately felt a nice surge of energy. We said that at Mile 5, we’d turn around and eat some gu and walk while we ate it. There was a mile marker for 4.7 but it felt like we were running for a very long time and didn’t see a marker at all (they’re sort of sporadic) so we decided that we’d probably run 5 and turned around. The gu didn’t seem to help as much as the sport beans, or maybe I just didn’t need it at that time. The rest of the run was pretty uneventful. I enjoyed myself from miles 5-8.5ish and then after that, I just wanted it to be over! It was more just me being sick of running than physically being tired.

On the way home, we passed a Carvel and treated ourselves. This was the first time that Joan had ever run double digits so she definitely deserved an ice cream. I was kind of boring and just got vanilla. I can’t help it; I like vanilla ice cream the best.

My legs are sort of sore. It’s a weird spot. The front of my ankles. Or maybe very low on my shins is a better way to describe it. They don’t hurt; they’re just sore.

I kind of gave up on the Shred this past week. I figure that I’ll pick it back up after the race.

One response to “Double Digits

  1. so you did 10 miles total?! yayyyy you!!!

    I really want to start shred, but I’m afraid to totally kill my legs and I have 2 weeks before the race!! I’m just going to concentrate on my endurance, speed, abs and maybe some arms for now and then start shredding after April 5 🙂

    go you!!!!