Speaking of Barney Butter

I was out and about this morning and decided that I would stop at Fresh Market to see if I could get a jar of the elusive Barney Butter. Well, they did have it in stock, but it was $10! I just couldn’t justify buying a ten dollar jar of Almond Butter, especially when I’ve never tasted the stuff. I checked the website and it’s cheaper to buy online so when my sample comes, if I like it, I will be purchasing it that way.

It’s so weird not to be on a training schedule. I told myself that I’d do 5 miles this afternoon, but it’s just odd not to feel like I have to do it. I’ve only run once since last weekend, a three miler on the treadmill on Thursday night. Well, actually, Murphy and I went on a mile jog on Tuesday but I don’t really count that. I am technically training for a 5k I suppose and loosely basing my runs on the last few weeks of Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 5K Plan.

I had a fun night last night but it was a little too fun and I’m paying for it this morning. I don’t know when I’m going to learn that I just can’t drink the way I used to. It’s especially hard when I hang out with my friends who can still drink. Jason and I went to dinner at Zaya which is pretty much our go to restaurant when we’re looking for something kind of nice, kind of trendy but not too nice and not too trendy. I had the Chicken Shwarma with yogurt salad and hummus. We told the server not to bring the pita bread. I cannot have a bread basket in front of me and only eat one piece. It’s just easier not to have it there tempting me. After dinner, we met up with some friends at a bar. We had a lot of fun playing video games and air hockey. We were out until after 1 am.

This morning I had a consultation about laser hair removal. I didn’t realize how expensive it was. The people at this particular place said that are more expensive than some other places but it’s worth it. I kind of think that I should probably not try to be frugal when it comes to someone zapping my face with a laser. Has anyone had it done before? I would like to hear your experiences if you have.

I just realized that each of these paragraphs have nothing to do with each other. So much for fluidity in my writing.

2 responses to “Speaking of Barney Butter

  1. maybe you could just ask them to bring you one (and only one) piece of pita bread? pita (or naan) just adds SO MUCH to the goodness of middle eastern food . . .

  2. True. It was a little odd eating my hummus with a fork!