Non-Food Musings

1. Twilight. I was all about giving into the hype. I read the first book and thought the story was engrossing but just couldn’t get past the corny dialogue and mediocre writing. So I rented the movie the other night. I like teenage movies. Make fun of me if you will. I might be almost 31 years old but I like Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Hills and The City, Made and of course, my favorite show, the Real World. So, what I’m getting at is that the teenage aspect of Twilight doesn’t bother me in the least.

Here’s what did: (And I realize I might lose some of my very small readership for saying this!) Robert Pattinson looked scary and half-dead not hot! I don’t know, but pale white skin and lipstick just aren’t my thing, I suppose. There were other things too. The dialogue that bothered me in the book was almost verbatim in the movie. I’m disappointed because I wanted to like it. I really did.

2. Unbeknownst to me until recently, there are a lot of blogs out there that feature people taking pictures of themselves in primarily J. Crew clothing. I want this to be me. Not really the taking picture part because I don’t even have a full length mirror (I know, I know) but I want to wear J. Crew all the time. I feel like I never look put together and in my head, I so want to! But in real life, the laziness takes over and I go out to lunch wearing running clothes. How do I put more effort into my appearance with a lack of funds? I’ve actually gotten 100 times better in the last five years but I still have some comfortable clothes that Stacey and Clinton would be very upset over.

3. I see people around all the time that look like my father. It’s kind of odd. My sister and I watched two movies last night – Religulous and Young @ Heart and in both movies, my father’s doppelganger appeared. Once as Bill Maher.

4. I love College. I was going to say that Asher Roth was kind of hot but then I looked up some more pictures and realized that I am way to old to be thinking that.

Comments are closed.