Back on Track

Sometimes when I don’t work out for a few days, I get sort of anxious and panicky. My sister and I went out to eat a lot and although I mostly ate salads, it was still a lot more calories than I normally consume. More calories + less exercise + Cadbury Mini Eggs = gaining back the weight that I’d lost in the past two weeks. UGH!

I’m trying to get back on track. We lost power yesterday for nearly 12 hours. There was a big storm with high winds that blew all sorts of trees down. So, cooking dinner was obviously out, as was going to the grocery store. The gym had power, so I went and ran three miles. By the time I got back, the power was back, fortunately. I don’t know what I thought I was going to do if it wasn’t and we didn’t have hot water! I was going to run again tonight but by the time I stopped at Kroger, made and ate dinner, it was nearly 8 pm so I did The Shred instead.

Let me tell you, Level 3 was extremely hard! This was my first time doing it. Plank walks? Jillian, you have got to be kidding me. Seriously, whatever muscle that move utilizes to get up from the plank position, I don’t have it. I have a sneaking suspicion that it’s the same muscle that you use for push-ups. I liked the cardio moves for this level a lot though. They were all combination of cardio and strength moves, like squat jumps.

I made Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew for dinner:

2009-04-14

It was from Taste of Home which we get free samples of all the time at work. I kind of messed up halving the recipe and didn’t put in the right amount of chicken. I still really liked it. The broth reminded me a lot of this vegetable soup that Bonnie used to make when I was a kid.

Sweet Potato Chicken Stew
Ingredients:
3 cups cubed peeled sweet potatoes
1/2 cup water
1-1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 tablespoons canola oil
3 cups shredded cabbage
3 cups chicken broth
1 can (15-1/2 ounces) black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained
1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes with onions, undrained
1 cup sliced celery
1 cup tomato juice (I used Spicy V8)
1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:
Place the sweet potatoes and water in a 2-qt. microwave-safe dish. Cover and microwave on high for 6 minutes or until tender; drain.

In a Dutch, saute chicken in oil for 8-9 minutes or until juices run clear. Add the cabbage, broth, peas, tomatoes, celery, tomato juice, pepper, salt and sweet potatoes. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until heated through. Yield: 8 servings.

One response to “Back on Track

  1. the stew looks great! argh, i’m scared of level 3. i’ve been doing a slooooow progression (3 weeks at each level) and next week it’s time! for me, level 2 especially kills my weak little shoulders. at least we’re working on it, though!