Blog Identity Crisis

A few years ago, I discovered running blogs. Instantly, I was hooked. I started one of my own to document my experiences training for a marathon. After the race, as my running got more sporadic, so did my blogging and I abandoned the blog. (It’s still out there in blogland if anyone wants to read it.)

Through a message board that I’ve been active on for years, I discovered food blogs. They were all over the place from vegan cooking to gourmet baking and everything in between. The ones that were the most intriguing to me where the ones about healthy food especially if they talked about running and weight loss and had pretty pictures. I decided to morph my old blog into a more foodcentric blog. Except that sometimes I can’t, or rather, don’t want to. I like posting certain recipes but I’m pretty sure that no one wants to see a picture of yogurt in a tupperware container in a poorly lit office every day. Furthermore, the amount of time that I dedicate in a day to thinking about food/weight loss is kind of embarrassing and truthfully, probably not all that healthy.

My latest discovery in blogland are the clothing and shopping blogs. Now, I’m not about to turn my blog into one of those, because I don’t shop that much and really, you don’t want to see what I wear every day. But I think that it’s interesting to get ideas from other people, especially if they’re more fashionable than myself. I might or might not have been influenced by these types of blogs and purchased four J Crew items on my lunch break.

I guess the types of blogs that I like the best are a combination of the above and ultimately, what I want my blog to be. I really would like to show that I am a well rounded, though slightly neurotic, person through my writing. Yes, I am very interested in healthy eating and constantly trying to lose a few pounds, but that’s just one facet of my personality. Sometimes I’m so eager to get a post up so I don’t lose any of my [very small] readership, that I don’t focus enough on the content of what I’m writing. I minored in English. I like to write and think I’m decent at it. (Except that I just ended a sentence with a preposition and I use way too many parentheses.)

I’m not changing my blog. That’s not where I’m going with this. I still like taking pictures of my dinners and talking about the miles that I’ve run. I I want to cram in everything that I’m thinking into one post and end up with a poorly thrown together mismash of my thoughts. I need to tell myself to focus on one, or a few, things per post. It’s okay if I don’t post a picture of my dinner or it’s okay if I don’t talk about the 4 mile run that I did. It’s okay if I don’t talk about how I somehow gained 4 pounds from eating chips and salsa. (But you can bet that I’ll talk about that one!)

The J. Crew stuff was on sale at least! And here’s my dinner because it was good and super easy to make.

2009-04-15

I took two 100-calorie packs of almonds and walnuts and pulsed them in the food processor. I added some Adobo and spread the mixture over tilapia filets that I had spritzed with lime juice. I baked them for about 13 minutes at 425. They are atop of some green beans which were sauteed with mushrooms and onions. Super easy and pretty tasty.

One response to “Blog Identity Crisis

  1. be like me and join the ranks of the completely unfocused bloggers! it’s fun. as for the j. crew purchases — i want details! i also enjoy shopping/design/style blogs and i always get really sad when someone talks about getting stuff shopping but doesn’t show the loot. it’s fun to shop vicariously through others!

    on a related note, i am wearing a ridiculously bright orangish-yellow j. crew shirt (fine, painter’s T) and it is making me happy.