Weekend Recap

The 5K didn’t go exactly as planned. For one thing, I could not sleep on Friday night. It was awful. I think that it was a combination of being excited for Saturday’s events and being nervous that I wouldn’t get enough sleep for them.

We got to the race start at about 10:30 and picked up our numbers. As soon as the race began, I knew that this was not going to be a race to try to get a PR. It was very crowded in the beginning and you basically had to walk for the first couple of minutes. Additionally, parts of the course were on trails which created somewhat of a bottleneck since a lot of people were walking. But aside from all that, there were HILLS. I’ve run this race before and knew it was hilly, but didn’t remember quite how hilly it was. Seriously, it felt like 75% of the race was uphill. I told myself that I was not going to stop and walk and I did manage to run the entire thing, albeit some of my hill running might have looked more like shuffling. My finish time was around 33 minutes, although I’m not really sure.

This race was part of a festival so afterwards we hung out for a little bit. They gave all the racers a ticket for a free beer so we sat on a hill and listened to the band that was playing and enjoyed the beer.

2009-04-18_2

When we got home, I tried very hard to take a nap but again could not fall asleep so finally just gave up. At 6:45, we went to dinner at El Taco. I really had no idea which of my friends would show up and who would be a no-show. About 15 people came which was a great turnout! Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to talk to everyone. The restaurant was decent. I had a salad with shrimp. I also had to try the frozen mojito and a glass of sangria. Okay, fine, and a beer but it was my birthday and I wasn’t driving!

2009-04-18

There was also a Carvel cake courtesy of my friend Joan.
2009-04-18_1

About half the group came out to a bar afterwards. I’m basically known in my group of friends for getting tired before anyone else. I can’t help it. It’s like I’m fine and then BAM, the tiredness hits and I have to go home and go to bed immediatly. I exceeded everyone’s expectations and was able to stay out until midnight. I know, what a wild child, right? What can I say? I just can’t party the way I used to. At all.

I made up for my lack of sleep on Friday night by sleeping for almost 12 hours on Saturday night! Jason had the entire weekend off for once. It was so nice to be able to spend time together during the day. We met up with another couple that we’re friends with at the Dogwood Festival. It is a huge art festival that they have every year with tons of artists setting up booths. There was probably almost a mile of booths set up. It’s fun to just walk around and look at stuff. I have purchased art in the past but this weekend we just browsed. We stayed at the festival for about three hours and afterwards were sort of exhausted so we just ordered a pizza. I really never order delivery pizza but we didn’t have any food in the house and I didn’t feel like going to the grocery store. I also reasoned that it was my birthday weekend so I could eat badly if I wanted.

2009-04-19_21

So now it’s back to life as usual. I was really looking forward to Saturday and now that it’s over, I sort of don’t know what to do with myself. It’s kind of like I live my life looking forward to specific events and then feel sort of let down when they’re over. I mean, I have plenty of things to look forward to, but none in the immediate future. Jason has to work tomorrow, which is my actual birthday, and that kind of sucks. I mean, I’d rather he come out over the weekend, which he did but it still sucks. My iphone is coming though, so that’s something to look forward to. Although the additional charge for the data plan is not!

ETA – I just found out that one of my friends fell off of some sort of bike and cut her head open and has a major concussion. I don’t know if she was wearing a helmet or not. She was released from the hospital but was kept there for 12 hours. This happened while they were visiting family in California over the weekend. How scary. They were supposed to come back to Atlanta yesterday but are going to stay until Wed. so they can keep an eye on her.

2 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. omg happy birthday! you should eat WHATEVER you want on that special day, in my opinion.

  2. Happy birthday! Haven’t you heard that birthday calories don’t count? šŸ˜‰