A Proper Post

I’ve been so busy this week that I haven’t really had the chance to blog. As I mentioned earlier, I signed up for boot camp so I’ve been going to that at 6:30 am. It’s been hard but good. I can honestly say that I’ve never done as many squats in my life as I’ve done this week. Actually, I probably can’t honestly say that, but it feels like it. My quads were so sore on Wednesday that going from a standing to sitting position took a lot of motivation because it hurt and I would eventually have to just suck it up and plop down in my chair. Of course, that was the night when I went to see Dave Matthews, but I stood so it was okay.

At some point this week, I ate this. I don’t know when, it was just on my camera. The fish is some frozen steam in the bag kind, that tasted like frozen, steam in the bag fish. I thought it was Starkist but I just looked at their website and don’t see it. I’m too lazy to go downstairs and check. Anyway, I wouldn’t really recommend it. Fish just never seems to taste as good when I cook it at home. I suppose because it is mostly frozen, or previously frozen. I need to start buying fresh fish at the fish counter.

2009-04-27

I didn’t get home from the concert until almost 1 am and had to get up at 6 for boot camp on Thursday. Then, after work, we had dinner plans with some friends at Zaya. I was actually pretty proud of myself because I ate like a normal person. By that I mean that I had a few pita triangles but not many. I tried a few bites of dessert. I ate my salmon but not the whole thing because I was full.

Bootcamp again yesterday morning and then after work, Jason and I went to the Sweetwater Brewery with some of my work friends. They have these tours of the brewery Wednesday-Friday evenings for about two hours. Basically you pay $8 and you get a pint glass with 6 tickets. Most of the beers are 1 ticket for about 1/2 – 3/4 of the glass. Some of the beers are two tickets. I started out with a two ticket beer, some IPA. I didn’t like it at all so I poured it into Jason’s glass. I just stuck to Sweetwater Blue after that. I’m pissed at them because they discontinued my favorite Sweetwater – the Summer Hummer. It was a wheat beer similar to a Blue Moon or a Hoegaarden and it was really the only Sweetwater that I liked, the rest are too dark. The bartender said it just wasn’t selling. Boo. (I wonder how many hits this post is going to get because of the word “Hummer”?)

2009-05-01

We decided to go to The Porter for dinner since Jason had been wanting to try it. I’d been there once before and liked it. Funny thing about The Porter is that they serve all of their drinks in mason jars, including wine.

2009-05-01_1

Yes, I got wine at a beer bar and yes, I know it looks like pee. For my entree, I got the veggie burger. I asked for arugula salad with the dressing on the side and no butter on the bun. The waiter was kind of confused about the no butter on the bun request and said that he didn’t think they were buttered and they were some sort of foccacia roll with cheese in them anyway. So I said to just leave it as it was. Also, he forgot to put the dressing on the side of my salad but it was light tasting and good. I didn’t take any pictures because it was pretty dark in the restaurant. The guy at the table next to ours was taking pictures of his food and I got excited about that, for some reason.

So, yeah, that’s what I’ve been up to in the past few days.

3 responses to “A Proper Post

  1. asheville is awesome! josh and i had a great time there last summer. i definitely recommend it. if you go back to my archives from last july (end of the month) you can see pictures & restaurant stuff! i highly recommend cucina 24 and the laughing seed, and our hotel was nice too but maybe overpriced (the grove park inn).

  2. The Sweetwater Brewery is so much fun!!

  3. OMG – Wine in a mason jar??? I think I’m in love!