Homemade Larabars and Regrets

I tried my hand at making my own Larabars. This recipe, while tasty, didn’t really hold together enough, I think my date to nut ratio was off. I used 1/2 cup chopped dates, a little less than 1/4 cup raw cashews, a little less than 1/4 cup raw almonds and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I blended the dates first, then the nuts and then both together. I think I needed more dates, the mixture was too dry. Also, it didn’t make very much. I had to roll them into little balls and probably only got about 6-7. They still tasted really good though. No pictures; the camera is in Jason’s car and I didn’t feel like using my Iphone. I’m going to try again soon so I’ll take a picture then.

I’m still kind of in a funk about something that happened last night. I’m not sure if I want to get into it here but the short version is that I had two groups of friends meet and everyone was drinking too much and the groups didn’t really get along and I was stuck in the middle. Nothing actually happened but one of my friends was making it sort of awkward for me, saying nasty things about one of the others. Ugh. Sometimes, I just want this party phase of my life to be over. I say that again and again, but then go out and contradict myself by acting like I’m 22. A lot of my friends are still in that party mode, so it’s very easy to get caught up in, I guess. I think that part of it is that it’s just a weird time in my life. Half of my friends have children and obviously don’t go out anymore and then the other half are still big into the bar scene. So the latter half are the ones that I see more, since they are more accessible. I don’t really know how to express what I’m feeling. It seems so obvious, if I don’t like going out to the bars and getting drunk, then I shouldn’t go. You know, it’s not even so much about the drinking, although that’s part of it. Last night we were in a crowded bar and then moved to a crowded club. I think that’s what I don’t like anymore. I just want to be able to enjoy the conversation. Maybe I’ll just take a break from going out for a while? Or just go to dinners with Jason and not going to crowded bars/clubs.

Okay, I didn’t even really intend to write about that! Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day to my Mom who might or might not read this blog! (I don’t think she actually saw the twitter link).

Comments are closed.