Pros and Cons

Boot camp, boot camp, how I love and hate thee. There are only two more days and I’m at a loss for what to do next.

Pros for signing up for another session:

• It’s more of a challenge than I would do on my own and I feel like I’m getting a better workout.
• I like having my workout finished by the time I go to work and am not sure if I could find the motivation to wake up early every morning if I wasn’t paying to.
• I like being sore in places where I didn’t know it was possible to be sore. Hurts so good, right?
• I think I’m getting stronger. I can do jumping press ups much easier than when I first started.
• Jason and I are going to Mexico in Sept. I would love to wear a bathing suit without feeling like a blob.
• It’s kind of like having a personal trainer.
• Keeps me out of trouble the night before.
• Maybe eventually make some new friends there.

Cons

• The cost. Although I did find out that it’s not as much as I thought it was and there are a couple of different options besides going 4 times a week.
• Getting up early is a bitch.
• Not being able to go out on a Friday night is also a bitch.
• I could replicate a lot of the exercises on my own for free with the gym membership that I am still paying for.
• I’m not running as much and I’m afraid my endurance is going to suffer.

What’s a girl to do?

In food related news, I recreated a version of Jason’s panini from Sprouts myself. Jason made one for lunch and emailed me about it and sounded so good that I scraped my plan to make chili and opted to make a sandwich instead.

IMG_1070

Farmer’s Market pumpernickel bread with two slices of turkey, TJ’s sundried tomato hummus, mustard and a string cheese all cooked up in the George Foreman. The string cheese didn’t exactly melt, but it was still tasty.

Nom, Nom, Nom.

6 responses to “Pros and Cons

  1. that sammich sounds awesome!! i’ve never had TJ’s sundried tomato hummus – must.try! thanks for sharing!!

  2. homegirlcaneat

    Fight the blob! You rock that bootcamp shawty!

  3. that’s a hard decision! maybe go for the compromise: 2 days a week of bootcamp, and then maybe a race to train for to emphasize more endurance?

  4. Go for the second session of boot camp! I just finished a 6 week boot camp last week (class met Mon and Wed at 5:30 AM), and I signed up for the next session yesterday. I agree with all your pros and cons, those are exactly the things that I considered before I signed up again. In the end, I decided that I can say I will do all the exercises on my own, but in reality, I know I won’t.

    Maybe reduce the number of classes you go to in a week and run distance on the days that you would have gone to class (or like Sarah said, sign up for a race so you have a motivator to get out and run).

  5. I say your benefits are outweighing your protests. You’re obviously seeing benefits. Here’s my suggestion. Do as the others have suggested, and cut back to 2-3 times per week. Put your gym membership on freeze through October? (LA Fitness, right? It’s like $10 per month to freeze) and then train for 13.1 Marathon (October 4). That gives you something to focus on (endurance) and keeps you working toward your Mexico goal.

  6. I considered signing up for a paid bootcamp class a little while ago too, but just couldn’t make myself get up so early twice a week (yes, that class was only twice a week!). I even test drove the time and tried to attend a few other classes offered at my gym that were like a whole hour later than this one, but I still couldn’t really stick to it. I’m also not very “with it” that early in the morning. I get a much better workout during lunch. On the days I did make it to the gym in the crazy early hours, it was pretty cool to be done with it all before breakfast 🙂 Good luck with making this choice… it’s definitely a tough one!
    Awesome looking sandwich there! 😀